UCLA, USC to meet for all-Pac-12 NCAA doubles final

UCLA and USC both advanced in women's doubles play on Sunday, setting up a crosstown showdown for Monday's NCAA championship match and guaranteeing the Pac-12 a champion in NCAA women's doubles competition for the sixth consecutive year.

[Related: NCAA women's tennis doubles bracket]

First up on the doubles court were UCLA's Robin Anderson and Skylar Morton, who endured a rain delay before seeing action against Alabama's pair of Alexa Guarachi and Mary Anne Macfarlane. Alabama started off in control of the first set, but allowed the Bruins to even it up at 3-3 before UCLA took the lead at 5-4 and then won two of the remaining three games to claim the set, 7-5. The second set followed the same script as Alabama started off with a 2-0 lead, but a UCLA charge brought it to 3-3. Anderson and Morton won the next two games, and eventually the match, as the 6-4 second set sealed their victory.

USC's No. 2-seeded duo of Kaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria took the court next, eliminating Tennessee's No. 4-seeded pair of Brynn Boren and Kata Szekely in the tightest match of their postseason, 7-5, 7-5. Christian and Santamaria are the reigning two-time Pac-12 champions.

[Related: Stanford's Nicole Gibbs returns to NCAA singles championship match]

The final match is set for Monday at 11:30 a.m. PT. UCLA last won the women's doubles title in 2008 with Riza Zalameda and Tracy Lin, while USC has never had a women's doubles champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder