Four Pac-12 baseball teams receive bids for NCAA Championship

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Arizona State, Oregon, Oregon State and UCLA have been selected to the 64-team field for the 2013 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, as announced by the NCAA selection committee on Monday.

Oregon State received the No. 3 overall seed in the tournament, while Oregon earned the No. 8 overall seed. Oregon, Oregon State and UCLA will all host a regional as tournament play starts Friday, while Arizona State earned a spot in the Fullerton Regional.

In the Corvallis regional, the Pac-12 Champion and top-seeded Beavers (45-10) will open with WAC Champion University of Texas San Antonio (35-23) at 5 p.m. PT on ESPN. Second-seeded Texas A&M (32-27) and third-seeded UC Santa Barbara (34-23) round out the rest of the regional. OSU is in the postseason for the eighth time in the last nine years.

Oregon (45-15) is the No. 1 seed in the Eugene Regional, where the Pac-12 runners up will take on Summit League Champion South Dakota State (35-22) at 6 p.m. PT on ESPN3. That game is preceded by two-seed Rice (41-17) versus three-seed San Francisco (34-22) at 2 p.m. PT. This marks the second time the Ducks have earned a national seed in the tournament since the baseball program was reinstated in 2009.

UCLA (39-17) plays host for the Los Angeles Regional as the top seed in the bracket. First up for the Bruins is fourth-seeded San Diego State (31-29). First pitch is slated for 6 p.m. PT, and the game will air live on ESPN3. Two-seed Cal Poly (39-17) and three-seed San Diego (35-23) make up the other half of the regional bracket.

Arizona State (35-20-1) is the second seed in the Fullerton Regional, hosted by No. 5 overall seed Cal State Fullerton (48-8). The Sun Devils start off with three-seed New Mexico (37-20) on Friday at 4 p.m. PT on ESPN3. In the other half of the bracket, the host Titans take on fourth-seeded Columbia (27-19).

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled from Friday, May 31, to Monday, June 3 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on on June 3 at approximately 8 p.m. PT.

The 67th Men's College World Series starts Saturday, June 15, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.


Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder