Stanford's Gibbs defends NCAA title, USC wins first doubles crown

Stanford's Nicole Gibbs protected her territory Monday at the University of Illinois' Atkins Tennis Center, winning the NCAA women's tennis singles championship for the second consecutive year. Gibbs is the first woman to repeat as the NCAA singles champ since former Stanford star Amber Liu won in 2003 and 2004.

Gibbs won all six of her NCAA contests in straight sets, ending the year on a 14-match winning streak.

Nebraska's Mary Weatherholt was the Stanford junior's final victim, falling 6-2, 6-4 Monday afternoon in Urbana, Ill. Gibbs dominated the first set, grabbing a 4-1 lead before closing out at 6-2. In the second set, Weatherholt held control early but allowed Gibbs to tie it up at 3-3, when Weatherholt hurt her right knee - the same knee she has had three operations on. Weatherholt returned to action after time with the trainers, but couldn't keep up with Gibbs as she went on to claim the set - and the match - 6-4.

Gibbs told the media after her victory that she plans to turn pro.

Speechless. #lastyearbestyear #GOCARD

— Nicole Gibbs (@Gibbsyyyy) May 27, 2013

[Related: NCAA women's tennis singles bracket]

On the doubles court, No. 2-seeded Kaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria of USC downed UCLA's duo of Robin Anderson and Skylar Morton, 6-4, 6-3, Monday to claim USC's first-ever NCAA women's doubles championship. The close score is telling of the two pairs' history playing each other: the duos last battled in October in the ITA/Riviera All-American semifinals, where USC came out on top. But last season, the two teams met six times and ended up at 3-3, according to USC Athletics.

Congratulations to @USCWomensTennis Sabrina Santamaria and Kaitlyn Christian, the 2013 NCAA Doubles Champions! #FightOn#USC — USC Trojans (@USC_Athletics) May 27, 2013

After Monday's victories, a Pac-12 athlete now has won the women's singles championship for three consecutive years, and a Pac-12 duo has won the women's doubles championship for six consecutive years.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder