Three Pac-12 baseball players named Golden Spikes semifinalists

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Three Pac-12 baseball players were named among 30 semifinalists for the 2013 Golden Spikes Award, USA Baseball announced on Tuesday. The Golden Spikes Award recognizes the top amateur baseball player in the country.

Representing the Pac-12 Conference are the following student-athletes (in alphabetical order): Mark Appel, RHP, Sr., STAN; David Berg, RHP, So., UCLA, Jimmie Sherfy, RHP, Jr., ORE.

"USA Baseball congratulates each of the 30 student-athletes and their respective baseball programs," said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO. We wish all of the semifinalists the best of luck."

Appel, Stanford's all-time strikeout leader (372), ranks fifth in the Pac-12 with a 2.12 ERA and boasts a .203 opposing batting average. He leads the Conference and ranks second in the nation with 130 punch outs. The All-American went 10-4 in 14 starts this season and tossed four complete games. He issued just 23 walks and allowed 17 extra-base hits in 106.1 innings this season.

Berg owns an NCAA-best 0.70 ERA. He is 6-0 in 41 appearances and has tallied 18 saves. He boasts a .190 opposing batting average and has notched 64 strikeouts versus seven walks.

Sherfy, who ranks second in the NCAA with 20 saves, owns Oregon's top two single-season marks in the category--he had 19 saves in 2012. He boasts a 1.67 ERA in 36 appearances this season and has struck out 52 batters while walking 13. He has held opposing batters to a .216 average.

The list of 30 semifinalists will be sent to a voting body consisting of past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting also will be a part of the Golden Spikes Award. Fans will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist on Tuesday, May 28 on As part of the selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of 30 names. On Tuesday, June 4, USA Baseball will announce the three finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day. The Golden Spikes Award trophy will be awarded live on MLB Network for the third year in a row, with a live presentation scheduled during The Rundown on Friday, July 19.

Past Pac-12 winners include Trevor Bauer (UCLA, 2011), Tim Lincecum (Washington, 2006) and Terry Francona (Arizona, 1980).

For the complete list of 2013 Golden Spikes Award semifinalists, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder