This year in Pac-12 Tennis

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-12 Conference tennis season was concluded with STANFORD women's tennis team crowned as the NCAA National Champion and the UCLA men's tennis named the runner-up. Nicole Gibbs of Stanford won her second individual national title in a row for the Cardinal as the pair of Kaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria of USC finished their undefeated season as the NCAA doubles champions.

Gibbs defeated Nebraska's Mary Weatherholt 6-2, 6-4 for the title. She became just the fifth female player in NCAA history to win back-to-back titles. Aside from Gibbs, three of those players were from Stanford, Patty Fendick (1986-87), Laura Granville (2000-01) and Amber Liu (2003-04).

UCLA's Robin Anderson, Stanford's Krista Hardebeck, ARIZONA STATE's Jacqueline Cako and CALIFORNIA's Zsofi Susanyi all advanced to the Round of 16 in the NCAA singles tournament. Kyle McPhillips of UCLA, Zoe Scandalis and Sabrina Santamaria of USC and Klara Fabikova of Cal all made it to the second round. USC's Danielle Lao, Stanford's Kristie Ahn, ARIZONA's Lacey Smyth and Cal's Anett Schutting were all participants in the singles tournament, but lost in their first match.

Christian and Santamaria put USC back on the map in the women's collegiate tennis world as they were the first Trojan doubles team to win a doubles title and the first of USC to win a crown of any type since 1985. The duo topped Pac-12 rival UCLA pair of Skylar Morton and Anderson 6-4, 6-3.

Three additional Pac-12 pairs qualified for the women's doubles championship. Stanford's Stacey Tan and Ellen Tsay along with the Cardinal pair of Ahn and Gibbs both lost their matches in the first round. The ASU duo of Nicole Smith and Cako advanced to the quarterfinals falling to a duo from Tennessee.

On the men's side the Pac-12 had 11 individuals selected for the singles championship competition. Four Pac-12 athletes advanced to the Round of 16 including USC's Yannick Hanfmann and Ray Sarmiento, UCLA's Marcos Giron and WASHINGTON's Kyle McMorrow. Roberto Quiroz of USC and Dennis Novikov of UCLA both advanced to the second round before being eliminated. Cal's Campbell Johnson and Ben McLachlan, Stanford's John Morrissey, USC's Emilio Gomez and UCLA's Adrien Puget all fell in the first round of competition.

The Pac-12 men were represented in the doubles tournament solely by the pair from Cal of Johnson and Christoffer Konigsfeldt. The duo fell in the first round to a pair of athletes from Auburn.

The women's team tournament featured five of the 11 Pac-12 schools that sponsor tennis. Stanford the 2013 National Champion upset three higher ranked schools en route to the championship. They started their tournament topping Miami of Ohio 4-0 then moving on to beat Rice in the second round, 4-0. They faced USC in the round of 16 to win 4-3 for their first upset of the tournament. In the quarterfinals the Cardinal topped fourth-seeded Georgia 4-1. To advance to the finals they topped the No. 1 seed of the tournament Florida by a score of 4-3. The championship match came down to the final set as Stanford was victorious by a score of 4-3 over Texas A&M. UCLA advanced to the semifinals topping North Carolina 4-1, Michigan 4-0, Oklahoma 4-0 and Army 4-0. The Bruins fell to eventual runner-up Texas A&M by a score of 4-3. The Golden Bears advanced to the quarterfinals after facing Stony Brook 4-0, Auburn 4-0, Alabama 4-0 and then fell to Florida 4-3. USC advanced to the round of 16 and fell to Pac-12 member Stanford, while Arizona State fell in the second round.

The men's tournament was highlighted by an overall No. 1 seed held by UCLA. There were five of the eight Pac-12 teams in all to be selected for the tournament. UCLA was the runner-up in the national championship final falling in the final set to Virginia by a score of 4-3. USC advanced to the quarterfinals falling to Ohio State 4-3, while California made it to the round of 16. Stanford lost in the first round and Washington fell in the second.

The Pac-12 Tournament in Ojai, Calif. was held April 23-28. UCLA was crowned the Men's Pac-12 Champion in just the second year of a team tournament format. The Bruins topped cross-town rival USC 4-3 in a close fought match. The Pac-12 format was kept as an individual singles and doubles tournament for the women's side. UCLA's McPhillips was crowned the singles champion after topping Hardebeck of Stanford, 6-1, 6-0. The duo from USC of Christian and Santamaria were crowned the doubles winners after beating the UCLA pair of Courtney Dolehide and Pamela Montez, 6-3. 6-3.

In the 2013 tennis season the men's teams combined for a 140-74 (.654) record, while the women's teams tallied a 167-93 (.642) record. 16 of the 19 tennis programs finished with a record above .500 this year. Three men's teams finished ranked in the top 25 of the ITA poll including a No. 2 ranking for UCLA, No. 5 USC and No. 17 California. The women's teams were led in the rankings by No. 1 Stanford followed by No. 6 USC, No. 7 UCLA and No. 9 California.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder