Four Pac-12 men's rowing squads to race at IRA Championships

By the Pac-12 Conference

2013 Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Championships - Gold River, Calif.

PAC-12 TEAMS: California, Stanford, Oregon State and Washington

WHEN: Friday, May 31- Sunday, June 2

LIVE VIDEO: Live video will be available at

TWITTER: Follow the Pac-12 at the IRA Championships via the row2K Twitter Bin.

California lays claim to 16 IRA titles, the second-most of any school. Last season, Washington won all five grand finals at the IRA Championships, becoming the first crew to sweep the regatta. It was UW's 15th national championship and first repeat title in more than 70 years. The Huskies also won the Ten Eyck Trophy for the sixth straight season, finishing as the overall team points champion.

Top-ranked Washington captured its fourth consecutive Pac-12 title with victories in three of four races at Lake Natoma on May 19, including the varsity eight. The Huskies' top boat is undefeated this season and has notched dual race victories over ranked opponents Stanford (No. 4), California (No. 6) and Oregon State (No. 20). Washington won all four races in each of those regattas.

California finished second at the Pac-12 Championships but claimed a victory by nearly six seconds over Conference champion Washington in the varsity four. The Golden Bears kicked off the 2013 spring campaign with a varsity eight victory at the San Diego Crew Classic to claim their fourth Copley Cup in the past five years. The varsity eight followed its performance in the opener with a convincing win over No. 11 Wisconsin at the Stanford Invitational on April 20 and paced the Bears to a sweep of then-No. 19 Oregon State the following weekend.

Stanford is coming off of a third place finish at the Pac-12 Championships, highlighted by a second place finish in the varsity eight. The Cardinal also topped the Bears in the Big Row to capture the Schwabacher Cup in the varsity eight for the first time since 2008. Two weeks prior, the Cardinal's top boat posted wins over No. 11 Wisconsin and No. 20 Oregon State at the Stanford Invitational.

Oregon State received an at-large bid after placing fourth at the Pac-12 Championships. The Beavers will make their first appearance at the IRA Championships since 2010. OSU has gone toe-to-toe with four top-10 teams this season and made a statement early in the spring season as the varsity eight earned a spot in the Grand Final of the San Diego Crew Classic after finishing third in its qualifying heat.

SCHEDULE: Friday, May 31
8-8:45 a.m. ET: Varsity Eight Heats 1-4
9-9:45 a.m. ET: Second Varsity Eight Heats 1-4
10-10:30 a.m. ET: Freshman Eight Heats 1-3
10:45-11:30 a.m. ET: Varsity Four Heats 1-4
11:45-12:15 p.m. ET: Open Four Heats 1-3
2-2:45 Varsity Eight Repechage 1-4
3-3:12 a.m. ET: Second Varsity Eight Repechage 1-2
3:24 a.m. ET: Freshman Eight Repechage 2
3:35-4:12 a.m. ET: Varsity Four Repechage 1-4
4:24 a.m. ET: Open Four Repechage

Saturday, June 1
8:45-9 a.m. ET: Open Four Semifinals
9:15-10 a.m. ET: Varsity Four Semifinals 1-4
10:30-10:45 a.m. ET: Freshman Eight Semifinals 1-2
11-11:15 a.m. ET: Second Varsity Eight Semifinals 1-2
11:30 a.m.-12 p.m. ET: Varsity Eight Semifinals 1-4

Sunday, June 2
8:50 a.m. ET: Varsity Four Third Final
9:12 a.m. ET: Men's Open Four Petite Final
9:24 a.m. ET: Open Four Grand Final
9:36 a.m. ET: Varsity Four Petite Final
9:48 a.m. ET: Varsity Eight Grand Final
10:04 a.m. ET: Second Varsity Eight Third Final
10:40 a.m. ET: Freshman Eight Petite Final
10:55 a.m. ET: Freshman Eight Grand Final
11:05 a.m. ET: Second Varsity Eight Petite Final
11:20 a.m. ET: Second Varsity Eight Grand Final
11:45 a.m. ET: Men's Varsity Eight Fourth Final
11:55 a.m. ET: Men's Varsity Eight Third Final
12:05 p.m. ET: Men's Varsity Eight Petite Final
12:20 p.m. ET: Men's Varsity Eight Grand Final

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder