Women's golf postseason honors announced

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — In a vote of the 11 Conference coaches, USC's Annie Park has been unanimously named the 2013 Pac-12 Golfer of the Year and the 2013 Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. Andrea Gaston, also of USC, is the Pac-12 Coach of the Year, the Conference office announced Thursday.

Park finished the season with four wins and claimed the Pac-12 individual title at the 2013 Pac-12 Women's Golf Championships. Park became the third consecutive Trojan, and sixth overall, to earn medalist honors while leading the Trojans to their fourth Conference title. This is the fifth time a USC golfer has received the award. Park is the seventh freshman to win individual medalist honors at the 2013 NCAA women's golf championship. In her first career NCAA appearance, Park earned the individual crown by a wide margin - six shots ahead of the runner-up. Her 10-under total of 278 led the Trojans to their third NCAA team title.

Along with Park's four wins in her first year as a Trojan, she posted one top-10 finish and six top-five finishes, including first-place finishes in the Bruin Wave Invitational, 2013 Pac-12 Championships, 2013 NCAA west regional and 2013 NCAA women's golf championships. This is the fourth time a USC golfer has been awarded the Freshman of the Year honor. Park led the Trojans with an average score of 71.36 and finished ranked No. 2 in the Golfstat rankings. Her win in her first NCAA championship helped mark USC's 10th top-five NCAA finish.

Gaston guided the Trojans to their fourth Pac-12 title and second Conference title in three years. This is Gaston's second Pac-12 Coach of the Year honor, with her first coming in 2008. She is the second USC coach to receive the honor, joining Cathy Bright who was awarded Coach of the Year in 1987. Gaston engineered a USC group that became the first to post the low round each day since 1982 at the 2013 NCAA championships. Under Gaston's leadership, USC extended its NCAA leading streak of top-five finishes to eight and has 14 top-five finishes overall, tied for second most with UCLA. USC's second-round 276 set the NCAA championship record for low round and was the second best round in school history.

All-Pac-12 First Team

Name School Year Hometown
Noemi Jimenez Arizona State So. Malaga, Spain
Kyung Kim USC So. Chandler, Ariz.
SooBin Kim Washington So. Donghae, South Korea
Erynne Lee UCLA So. Silverdale, Wash.
Tiffany Lua UCLA Sr. Rowland Heights, Calif.
Annie Park USC Fr. Levittown, N.Y.
Sophia Popov USC Jr. Weingarten, Germany
Mariah Stackhouse Stanford Fr, Riverdale, Ga.

All-Pac-12 Second Team

Name School Year Hometown
Laura Blanco Arizona State Jr. Bogota, Colombia
Doris Chen USC Jr. Bradenton, Fla.
Manon Gidali  Arizona So. Paris, France
Cassy Isagawa Oregon So. Wailuku, Hawai'i
Lauren Kim Stanford Fr. Los Altos, Calif.
Lee Lopez UCLA Sr. Whittier, Calif.
Daniela Ordonez Arizona State Jr. Bogota, Colombia
Charlotte Thomas Washington Fr. Surrey, England

Honorable Mention: Jenny Coleman, Jr., COLO; Ani Gulugian, Jr., UCLA; Janie Jackson, Fr., ARIZ; Rachel Morris, Jr., USC; Kendall Price, So., ARIZ; Andrea Vilarasau, So., ARIZ; Sally Watson Sr., STAN.


Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder