Seven from the Pac-12 named Bowerman finalists

Pac-12 Content Image

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Seven Pac-12 men's and women's track & field athletes were named finalists on The Bowerman, the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association recently announced. The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation.

Ten men and 10 women are selected as finalists. Three Pac-12 men -  ARIZONA's Lawi Lalang (Eldoret, Kenya), USC's Bryshon Nellum (Los Angeles, Calif.) and UCLA's Julian Wruck (Brisbane, Australia) were among - were among those in the running for the prestigious honors. On the women's side, four are from league teams - the Wildcats' Brigetta Barrett (Wappingers Falls, N.Y.), STANFORD's Kori Carter (Claremont, Calif.), COLORADO's Emma Coburn (Crested Butte, Colo.) and OREGON's English Gardner (Voorhees, N.J.).

Each of the athletes on the list claimed at least one Pac-12 title. Nellum won a pair of individual titles in the 200 meter and 400 meter; Lalang was the Pac-12 Champion in the 1,500 meter and Wruck is the discus champion. Barrett set the NCAA collegiate-meet mark in the high jump en route to claiming the Pac-12 crown in the event. Carter claimed first in both hurdles events, while Coburn was the 3,000-meter steeplechase champion competing in her first Pac-12 Championships. Gardner was the 200-meter champion at the league championships.

In addition to their Pac-12 Championships accomplishments, Nellum, Barrett and Coburn have already had a memorable 12 months. The trio competed at the London Olympics last summer, representing the U.S. Nellum and Barrett both came home with silver medals.

The Bowerman Watch List is updated throughout the indoor and outdoor track & field season. The winner is announced at the USTFCCCA Convention in December. For more information, visit

Pac-12 track & field athletes are preparing for the NCAA championships next week. The meet is being hosted by the University of Oregon at the historic Hayward Field, June 5-8.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network