Three Pac-12 hurlers named pitcher of the year semifinalists

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Three Pac-12 pitchers are among 10 semifinalists for the Diamond Sports Pitcher of the Year Award presented by the College Baseball Hall of Fame. The Pac-12's three representatives are tied for the most of any conference.

The Following are the semifinalists from the Pac-12 (in alphabetical order): Mark Appel, Sr., STAN; David Berg, So., UCLA; Andrew Moore, Fr., OSU.

"The pitchers on this list continue to demonstrate excellence on the mound," said award chairman Raymond Richardson. "As we've progressed through the season, we've been able to narrow down the list, but many of the pitchers across the country have made it a tough task."

Appel, Stanford's all-time strikeout leader (372), ranks fifth in the Pac-12 with a 2.12 ERA and boasts a .203 opposing batting average. He leads the Conference and ranks second in the nation with 130 punch outs. The All-American went 10-4 in 14 starts this season and tossed four complete games. He issued just 23 walks and allowed 17 extra-base hits in 106.1 innings this season. Appel won the National Pitcher of the Year Award in 2012.

Berg owns a NCAA-best 0.81 ERA. He is 6-0 in 44 appearances and has tallied 20 saves to rank third in the NCAA. He boasts a .190 opposing batting average and has notched 69 strikeouts versus seven walks. The Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year tossed a NCAA-high 37.0 consecutive scoreless innings over 24 appearances in the second half of the season and is in contention for a number of national postseason honors, including the Golden Spikes Award and the Dick Howser Trophy.

Moore, the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, is the only Conference hurler with 13 wins this season (ranks second nationally), and his 1.22 ERA and .192 opposing batting average rank second in the league. He has tossed three complete-game shutouts this season, the most by an OSU pitcher in more than a decade. Oregon State's Saturday starter, Moore tallied 61 strikeouts and issued 23 walks in 111.0 innings this season.

"To see how consistent these pitchers have been all year has been truly impressive," Richardson said. "And to see several conferences continue to have multiple representatives speaks to the quality of baseball being played across the country."

The award will be presented on June 29 as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions event in Lubbock, Texas.

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit .

Justin Garza, Cal State Fullerton
Jonathan Gray, Oklahoma
Kyle McGowin, Savannah State
Andrew Moore, Oregon State
Mark Appel, Stanford
David Berg, UCLA
Aaron Nola, LSU
Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss
Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt
Jeff McKenzie, CSU Bakersfield

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder