Berg and Sherfy named Stopper of the Year finalists

Pac-12 Content Image

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Oregon junior right-handed pitcher Jimmie Sherfy and UCLA sophomore right-handed pitcher David Berg are among five finalists for the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, an honor given to the top reliever in NCAA Division I baseball, the NCBWA announced on Wednesday. The Pac-12's two representatives are the most of any conference.

Sherfy, a 2012 Stopper of the Year finalist, leads the Pac-12 and ranks second in the NCAA with 21 saves. He finished the season with a 2.25 ERA in 38 appearances and struck out 55 batters while issuing 14 walks. A first-team All-Pac-12 performer, Sherfy held opposing batters to a .229 average and posted a pair of wins. He garnered second-team Louisville Slugger All-America consideration from Collegiate Baseball newspaper and is a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award and the Dick Howser Trophy.

Berg, the Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year, owns a NCAA-best 0.81 ERA. He is 6-0 in 44 appearances and has tallied 20 saves to rank third in the nation. He boasts a .190 opposing batting average and has notched 69 strikeouts versus seven walks. The first-team Louisville Slugger All-American pitched an NCAA-high 37.0 consecutive scoreless innings over 24 appearances in the second half of the season and is in contention for a number of national postseason honors, including the Golden Spikes Award and the Dick Howser Trophy.

Tyler Rogers of Austin Peay, Jonathan Holder of Mississippi State and Michael Lorenzen of Cal State Fullerton complete the list of finalists.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2013 College World Series.


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network