Cal's Kim named 2013 Haskins Award winner

By the Pac-12 Conference

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Sophomore Michael Kim became the first California men's golfer to win the Haskins Award, given annually to the national player of the year in men's collegiate golf as voted upon by college golfers and coaches along with members of the national media. Kim was named the 43rd recipient of the award by the Fred Haskins Commission on Tuesday in Columbus, Ga.

Kim will receive a sponsor's exemption to play July 4-7 in the Greenbrier Classic, a stop on the PGA Tour played at the Old White TPC in White Sulpher Springs, West Virginia. The award will be presented July 2 at a dinner prior to the tournament.

Kim, who was also named the Jack Nicklaus Player of the Year, was a finalist for the prestigious Ben Hogan Award and garnered Pac-12 Player of the Year laurels. The Del Mar, Calif., native picked up individual medalist honors a school-record four times and finished among the top five in seven tournaments this season. He posted top-10 finishes in 10 of 14 stoke play events and carried a 70.14 stroke average, the lowest adjusted stroke-play average in the nation.

Previous winners of the Haskins Award have won 28 majors and more than 260 professional tournaments around the world. Ben Crenshaw (Texas) and Phil Mickelson (Arizona State) each won the event three times and are on a list of winners that includes Tiger Woods (Stanford), Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech), Luke Donald (Northwestern) and Graeme McDowell (Alabama-Birmingham).

The award honors the late Fred Haskins, resident pro at the Country Club of Columbus, who shared the values and traditions of amateur golf with generations of young people in Saturday morning clinics that never cost more than a dime.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder