Stanford AD Bernard Muir discusses 19th consecutive Directors’ Cup

For the past 20 years, the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup has honored college institutions with the most prolific athletics programs across several NCAA sports. Points are awarded based on each school’s finish in 20 pre-determined sports — 10 men’s and 10 women’s — and the school that collects the highest point total at the end of the academic year is awarded the crystal trophy.

After a national championship in women’s tennis and top-four finishes in four other sports, Stanford is keeping the Cup in Palo Alto for the 19th straight year. That’s right — after North Carolina claimed the inaugural Directors’ Cup in 1983, the Cardinal has won it every single year since then.

Stanford athletic director Bernard Muir tells Pac-12 Networks’ Sarah Kezele what the honor means to the student-athletes, the university and the Cardinal community.

[Related: Drop DirecTV - get Pac-12 Networks]

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder