2012-13 Hansen Conference Medal winners announced

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The 2012-13 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners were announced today. A Conference medal is awarded annually to each member institution’s outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

Conference medal winners have been named every year since the 1960-61 academic year. In 2009, the Pac-12 renamed the award the Tom Hansen Conference Medal in honor of Hansen, who retired at the end of June 2009 after serving for 26 years as Commissioner of the Pac-10.

Following are the 2012-13 award winners:

School Men Women
Arizona John Bonano, Football Brigetta Barrett, Track & Field
Arizona State Carrick Felix, Basketball Constance Ezugha, Track & Field
California Tom Shields, Swimming/Diving Layshia Clarendon, Basketball
Colorado Sabatino Chen, Basketball Emma Coburn, Cross Country/T&F
Oregon Michael Clay, Football Alaina Bergsma, Volleyball
Oregon State Matt Boyd, Baseball Makayla Stambaugh, Gymnastics
Stanford Mark Appel, Baseball Becky Dru, Field Hockey
UCLA Jeff Locke, Football Vanessa Zamarripa, Gymnastics
USC Matt Barkley, Football Melanie Grindle, Rowing
Utah Miles Havlik, Skiing Rachel Messer, Basketball
Washington Jeremy Taiwo, Track & Field Christine Babcock, Track & Field
Washington State Adam Nelubowich, Baseball Liudmila Vasilieva, Tennis


Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network