Skip to main content

Brandin Cooks Named to Biletnikoff Award List

Jul 16, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Oregon State junior flanker Brandin Cooks’ name was on the 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List when it was released by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc. Tuesday. The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.

Cooks, who is a threat to score from anywhere on the field, is a preseason All-America selection by Phil Steele and Athlon, and is also on the Maxwell Award Preseason Watch List given annually to the top player in the nation. In 2012, Cooks, along with Markus Wheaton, became just the second receiving tandem in OSU history to each register 1,000 yards receiving in the same season. On the season, Cooks recorded 67 catches covering 1,151 yards and five touchdowns. The multi-threat receiver, who is also effective running the fly sweep, had five game of 100 receiving yards or more including a six-catch, 175-yard game at UCLA and an eight-catch, 173-yard performance at BYU.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award national Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast on ESPN.

The Beavers return to the practice field in preparation for the 2013 season Mon., Aug. 5 for the start of camp. OSU opens the year at Reser Stadium against Eastern Washington, Sat., Aug. 31 at 3 p.m. on the Pac-12 Networks. 

For information on the several ticket plans available for the 2013 season, please access or call 1-800-GO-Beavs during business hours.

Beaver Preseason Watch Lists (as of July 16)

Brandin Cooks, Jr., WR – Maxwell Award (top player), Biletnikoff Award (top receiver)

Scott Crichton, Jr., DE – Bronko Nagurski Award (top defender), Bednarik Award (top defender), Lott Trophy (top defender)

Keith Kostol, Jr., P – Ray Guy Award (top punter)

Rashaad Reynolds, Sr., CB – Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive back)

Trevor Romaine, Jr., PK – Groza Award (top kicker)

Isaac Seumalo, So., C – Rimington Award (top center), Outland Award (top interior lineman)