22 men's tennis players earn ITA Scholar-Athlete honors

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Twenty-two men’s tennis players from six Pac-12 schools were distinguished as International Tennis Association All-Academic Scholar-Athletes, the organization recently announced. Four teams were also honored as ITA All-Academic Teams. 

In order to achieve ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must: 1) be a varsity letter winner; 2) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 for the current academic year; and 3) have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters. 

In addition to the individual scholar-athletes, OREGON, STANFORD, CALIFORNIA and WASHINGTON were identified as ITA All-Academic Teams. To receive this recognition, an institution must have a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or higher on a 4.00 scale.

Stanford led the charge with eight student-athletes on the list, including Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year senior Denis Lin, who has earned ITA Scholar-Athlete honors for four-straight years. Lin is joined by three-time honoree Jamin Ball, as well as Sam Ecker, John Morrissey, Maciek Romanowicz, Robert Stineman, Trey Strobel and Anthony Tsodikov. The Cardinal has been selected as an ITA All-Academic Team for nine-consecutive seasons. 

California placed five players of its own on the list, with four sophomores and one freshman. Sophomore Greg Bayane is the lone two-time honoree. Accompanying him for their first time are sophomores Nikhil Jayashankar, Chase Melton and Jack Sanford, and freshman Wyatt Houghton

Washington, which was named an All-Academic team for the third-consecutive year, had four student-athletes receive scholar-athlete accolades. Led by junior Max Manthou, who reaped his third-straight ITA All-Academic honor, the Huskies’ Emmett Egger, Victor Farkas and Kyle McMorrow also garnered scholar-athlete status. 

Oregon’s Brent Chin, Aaron Clissold and Daan Maasland represented the Ducks on the list for the first time in their collegiate careers. UCLA and USC had one player each - Dennis Mkrtchian and Michael Tang, respectively - to round out the Conference’s scholar-athlete delegates. 

The honors were awarded for the 2012-13 men’s soccer season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network