Men’s Golf Set For Season-Opening Tourney

CORVALLIS, Ore. – A new-look Oregon State men’s golf team will open its 2013-14 season Monday at the two-day, 54-hole Kikkor Husky Invitational in Bremerton, Wash., in a competitive field that includes seven teams from the Pac-12.
Gone are three seniors -- Nick Chianello, Matt Rawitzer and Nick Sherwood -- who combined to play 114 of a possible 120 rounds last season, so Oregon State will have three newcomers in its lineup along with senior David Fink, who earned All-Pac-12 Second Team and PING All-Region honors, and junior Scott Kim.
FIELD (15): Oregon State, Arizona State, Brigham Young, UC Davis, Gonzaga, Oregon, Pacific, Pepperdine, St. Mary’s, San Diego, San Diego State, USC, Utah, Washington and Washington State.
COURSE: The tournament will be held at the par-72, 7,124-yard Gold Mountain Olympic Course. Some other events the course has hosted, or will host, over the years include:

  • Future Host - NCAA Men's Regional Championship (2015)
  • Host - U.S. Junior Amateur Championship (2011)
  • Host - NCAA Men's West Regional Golf Championship (2008)
  • Host - 81st U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship  (2006)

 BEAVERS’ LINEUP: Oregon State will go with a lineup of senior David Fink, juniors Alex Franklin and Scott Kim, and freshmen Kevin Chen and Kevin Murphy. It will mark the first career OSU appearances for Franklin, a transfer, and true freshmen Chen and Murphy.
The other five golfers on Oregon State’s roster will compete as individuals at the Gold Mountain Cascade Course. They are sophomores Tyler Carlson, Brian Jung and Chris Tedesco, redshirt freshman Brett Johnson and freshman Conner Kumpula.
FORMAT: Two-day, 54-hole tournament with 36 holes on Monday and 18 holes on Tuesday. The top-four individuals from each five-member team with the lowest scores for each 18-hole round constitute the scoring members for that given round.
TEE TIMES: Monday’s tee times will begin at 7:30 a.m. off the first and 10th holes, followed by the second round teeing off at 1 p.m. Tee times for Tuesday will begin at 8 a.m. off the first and 10th holes, with pairings decided by order of finish from the previous day.
Oregon State will start at 8:50 a.m. on Monday off the 10th tee and be paired with Utah and San Diego.
Click on the following YouTube link to watch an interview with Oregon State head coach Jon Reehoorn and senior David Fink:

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder