Football’s Coyle Named To Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

NEW YORK - Arizona State University football student-athlete Chris Coyle has been named to the 2013 John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List, the committee announced Tuesday.
The Mackey Award is given annually to the nation’s most outstanding tight end.
Coyle, one of four tight ends from the Pac-12 to make the midseason list, also earned a spot on the Mackey Award Preseason Watch list this past July.
Coyle, who has started all six games this season for the Sun Devils, has 13 catches for 224 yards and a pair of touchdowns. He is averaging 17.2 yards per catch and 37.3 yards per game with a long of 45.
He graduated from ASU in Spring 2013 with a Bachelor’s degree in Interdisciplinary Studies (Communication and Economics) and has played in 32 career games at ASU.
Coyle’s career marks rank among the highest in school history for tight ends as his 76 career receptions are the fifth most, his 993 career receiving yards are the sixth most and his seven career receiving touchdowns are tied for the seventh most.
His 57 receptions in 2012 set the single-season school record and his five touchdown catches were the third most by a tight end in school history en route to All-Pac-12 honorable mention recognition. 
He led the Sun Devils with 696 receiving yards this past season, including a 10-catch, 131-yard game against Illinois on Sept. 8. That performance was tied for the most receptions by a tight end in a single game in school history and was the second highest receiving yards for a tight end in ASU annals.
The 2013 Mackey Award Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 18 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on Nov. 25. The 2013 John Mackey recipient will be presented live on Dec. 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show.
NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA. 
The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez ('09), D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers,  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.    

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder