Skip to main content

USTA/ITA Northwest Regionals Primer

Oct 16, 2013

STANFORD, Calif.- Both Stanford tennis programs are in action this weekend (Oct. 18-22), competing in their respective USTA/ITA Northwest Regional Championships.

In addition to Stanford, the ITA's Northwest Region schools are comprised of the following: California, Eastern Washington, Fresno State, Gonzaga, Oregon, Pacific, Portland, Portland State, Sacramento State, Saint Mary's, San Francisco, San Jose State, Santa Clara, UC Davis, Washington and Washington State.

Continue to check back for updated draws and results.

Women's Draw

Men's Draw

- - - - - - - - - - - - - -


For the seventh straight season, Taube Family Tennis Stadium is serving as the host site for the women’s tournament.

Representing Stanford in both singles and doubles are: Kristie Ahn, Taylor Davidson, Caroline Doyle, Krista Hardebeck, Amelia Herring, Lindsey Kostas, Ellen Tsay and Carol Zhao.

Playing in just her second career tournament, fifth-seeded freshman Krista Hardebeck captured last year’s ITA Northwest Regional Championships singles crown, outlasting fourth-seeded Annett Schutting of California 6-3, 4-6, 7-6 (4). Hardebeck completed an impressive tournament run, dropping only two sets over a five-day stretch.

In the 2012 doubles final, the Cardinal’s top-seeded duo of Stacey Tan and Ellen Tsay defeated California’s team of Tayler Davis and Annie Goransson 8-4. Tan and Tsay repeated as doubles champions, breezing through five matches while surrendering four games or less in each contest.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - -


On the men's side, this year's event will be hosted by Saint Mary's.

Set to compete in singles and doubles for Stanford are: Jamin Ball, Yale Goldberg, Daniel Ho, John Morrissey, Nolan Paige, Maciek Romanowicz, Robert Stineman, Trey Strobel and Anthony Tsodikov.

In last year’s event, rookie Nolan Paige produced Stanford’s best showing, dropping a 7-5, 6-3 decision to Santa Clara's John Lamble in the semifinals. Paige was coming off back-to-back three-set victories, after collecting three straight wins to open the tourney, highlighted by an upset of top-seeded Kyle McMorrow of Washington.

Three doubles teams reached the round of 16 last year: Denis Lin/Maciek Romanowicz, Jamin Ball/Daniel Ho and John Morrissey/Trey Strobel.