Skip to main content

No. 3 Cal Men’s S&D Hosts Wisconsin in Dual Meet

Oct 30, 2013

BERKELEY – The No. 3-ranked Cal men’s swimming and diving team (2-0) will compete in its second straight battle between the Pac-12 and the Big 10 when it hosts No. 18 Wisconsin, Friday, Nov. 1 at 1 p.m. at Spieker Aquatics Complex. David Durden’s squad, last year’s national runners-up after winning the NCAA team title in 2011 and 2012, will be joining the Cal women’s S&D program in hosting a dual meet versus  a Badger squad coached by former Cal assistant women's swimming coach (2004-06) Whitney Hite.

Last season the Wisconsin men finished 15th at the NCAA meet and featured junior Drew teDuits, who won the program's first individual NCAA title since 1959. teDuit's time of 1:38.27 in the 200-yard backstroke was the third-fastest time in NCAA history. The Bears had defeated the Badgers in last year’s dual meet in Berkeley, 158-125. Cal was undefeated in dual meet competition in 2012-13, going 7-0, including defeating Stanford for the first time since 2005.

Cal opened its 2013-14 dual meet season with a 149-104 victory over Pacific on Oct. 3 in Berkeley and then defeated Big 10 foe Indiana, 173-122, on Oct. 11 at Spieker Aquatics Complex.

Against Indiana, the Bears were paced by senior Jeremy Bagshaw, sophomore Tyler Messerschmidt and freshman Ryan Murphy with two wins apiece. Bagshaw won the 500 (4:24.56) and 1000 free (9:06.60), Messerschmidt was the top sprint freestyler in capturing the 50 (20.11) and 100 free (44.20), and Murphy won the 100 (47.58) and 200 back (1:43.72). Other individual champions included sophomore Trent Williams in the 200 free (1:38.29), freshman Long Gutierrez in the 200 fly (1:47.72), sophomore Josh Prenot in the 200 breast (2:00.11) and senior Marcin Tarczynski in the 100 fly (48.59).

Cal also captured the opening 200 medley relay versus Indiana (1:28.92, Murphy, Prenot, Tarczynski, Messerschmidt).

The Bears will again vie for an NCAA crown in 2014. Leading Cal will be two individual champions from 2012 –Tarczynski (200 individual medley) and junior Will Hamilton (200 butterfly) – plus four members (Fleming, juniors Seth Stubblefield and Fabio Gimondi, Messerschmidt) of title-winning relays. Additionally, Cal features standout sophomores Prenot and Jacob Pebley (third in the NCAAs in the 200 backstroke), plus star recruit Murphy, one of the nation’s top young backstrokers who was third in the 200 back at this summer’s U.S. national championships.

In other Cal men’s swimming and diving news, junior college transfer (Ventura College) Henry Chung was presented his award as the 2012-13 California Community College Male Athlete of the Year (as selected by the California Community College Sports Information Association) in front of his Bear teammates on Tuesday during a team meeting

Following the Wisconsin meet, the Bears will host Stanford in a triple-distance meet on Wednesday, Nov. 6 at 2 p.m. at Spieker Aquatics Complex.