Skip to main content

Wrestling To Open Season At Cowboy Open

Nov 1, 2013

Live Results

TEMPE, Ariz.—The Arizona State wrestling team is set to open the 2013-14 season on Saturday at Wyoming’s 36th annual Cowboy Open, presented by the UniWyo Federal Credit Union at the War Memorial Fieldhouse.

No team scores will be kept, but champions will be named at both the Elite and Amateur brackets.

Arizona State will face off against some of the nation's top squads, including host-Wyoming, Northern Colorado and Utah Valley.

Sun Devil Competitors:
125- Ares Carpio (Sophomore)
133- Tyler Liberatore (Redshirt Freshman)
141- Paul Looper (Redshirt Freshman)
149- Nathan Hoffer (Redshirt Junior)
157- Joel Smith (Redshirt Junior)
165- Ray Waters (Sophomore)
184- Kevin Radford (Redshirt Junior)
197- Josh DaSilveria
285- Daniel Gusev

Also wrestling for the Sun Devils are Preston McCalmon, Codey Combs, Luke Bean, and Chace Eskam, while Kaleb Baker, and Tyree Owens will be wrestling unattached.

Live results of the tournament will be available through the University of Wyoming’s athletic website.

A season ago, the Sun Devils finished third in the Pac-12 Championships, hosted at Arizona State, while four members of the squad competed at the NCAA Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa.