Skip to main content

Kibet Named Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year

Nov 2, 2013

Louisville, Colo. The University of Arizona Wildcat No. 1 women’s cross country team received an outstanding honor prior to the start of the Pac-12 Cross Country Championships. The Pac-12 office announced that senior Elvin Kibet was named the 2013 Scholar Athlete of the Year on Saturday.

Kibet, from Eldoret, Kenya, is pursuing a degree in public health and boasts a cumulative GPA of 3.79. Kibet has been recognized for her work in the classroom many times before as well. In 2012, she earned Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) All-Academic honors for indoor track. For outdoors, Kibet was named to the Pac-12 All-Academic second-team. In the fall of 2012, Kibet was a first-team Pac-12 All-Academic selection.

Kibet has competed in two races thus far in the 2013 season, the Roy Griak Invitational and the Wisconsin adidas Invitational. Kibet’s season debut at the Roy Griak Invitational was a very good one, she took second place overall in the 6K with a time of 20:49. She led the Wildcats to a first-place finish. At the Wisconsin adidas Invitational, Kibet was the fourth Wildcat to finish the 6,000-meter race, clocking a time of 20:12, good for 21st place overall. The women’s team also won that competition as well. Kibet will compete on Saturday in the 2013 Pac-12 Championships.

In 2012, Kibet earned a third-place finish at the Pac-12 Cross Country Championships and led the women’s team to a runner-up finish. She was also a first-team 2012 NCAA Cross Country All-American, leading the UA women to a sixth-place finish at the NCAA Championships.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year. 

For continued coverage of Arizona Wildcat men’s and women’s cross country, visit and follow @ArizonaTrack on Twitter.