Skip to main content

Gordon Named to Tisdale Award Watch List

Nov 4, 2013

ST. LOUIS Arizona freshman forward Aaron Gordon has been named to the 10-man preseason watch list for the Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award, presented annually by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season, and the award was named in honor of the late Tisdale three seasons ago. Gordon is the lone Pac-12 player on this season’s Tisdale Award watch list, and one of just three forwards included on the list.

Just the fourth two-time California Mr. Basketball selection since 1979, Gordon earned tournament MVP honors while leading the United States to a gold medal at the 2013 FIBA U19 World Championship in Prague. He also owns a gold medal as part of the victorious Team USA at the 2011 FIBA Americas Championship.

The consensus top-five recruit in the class of 2013 was also the MVP of the McDonald’s All-American Game, where he finished with 24 points, eight rebounds and two assists in just 24 minutes of action, and the 2012 Under Armour Elite 24 Game.

Arizona has one Tisdale Award winner in its men’s basketball history, as Jason Gardner captured the honor in 2000. Other previous winners of the trophy include Chris Webber, Jason Kidd, Carmelo Anthony, Kevin Durant and Anthony Davis, among others.

The Tisdale Award will be presented at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 14 in Oklahoma City.

The No. 6/5 Wildcats will open the regular season on Friday when they take on Cal Poly at McKale Center. The game is slated for 8 p.m. MST. Tickets are available in person at the McKale Center Ticket Office, over the phone at 520-621-CATS or online at

For the latest updates on Arizona men’s basketball and an inside look at the program, follow @APlayersProgram on Twitter.

2014 Wayman Tisdale Award Watch List
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
Aaron Gordon, Arizona
Aaron Harrison, Kentucky
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Kasey Hill, Florida
Jabari Parker, Duke
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Wayne Selden, Kansas
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
James Young, Kentucky