Skip to main content

2013 Pac-12 Leadership Award announced

Dec 12, 2013

Stephanie McGregor, a 2013 graduate of Oregon State’s gymnastics team, and Gareth Gilna, a 2013 graduate of WASHINGTON’s track and field team, have been named recipients for the 2013 Pac-12 Leadership Award, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.

McGregor, a native of Alberta, Calgary,  graduated with honors with a degree in biomechanical engineering. She was the 2013 Pac-12 Women’s Gymnastics Scholar-Athlete of the Year and a candidate for the NCAA Woman of the Year. A member of OSU’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) for four years, she was selected the committee’s president during her senior year. McGregor volunteered on campus and in the community while at OSU, serving as a tutor and helping to build homes in Ethiopia with Beavers Without Borders, and locally with Habitat for Humanity. In the gym, McGregor helped the Beavers capture the 2013 Pac-12 title, while also earning all-conference honors on the uneven bars, earning the “Most Inspirational” team award for battling back from a ruptured Achilles’ tendon which forced her to miss the 2012 campaign. She also helped OSU win the 2011 Conference crown, while competing in the NCAA Championships all four years.

A member of the Husky track & field team, Gareth Gilna graduated from UW with a degree in chemistry and is planning to attend medical school. A native of Albuquerque, N.M., he was a member of the UW’s SAAC for four years, serving as president during his senior year. On campus, he was chair of the “Green Team,” a committee who’s mission is to make the athletic department more environmentally friendly. He organized community outreach programs, which included food and clothing drives, and speaking to local schools about participation in sports. Gilna also volunteered for three years at the Harborview Medical Center in the Department of Surgery and Emergency Department and provided research assistance. A distance runner, he competed at the NCAA Championships in 2010, after helping the team earn an at-large bid.

The Pac-12 Leadership Award is selected by members of the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and is a $3,000 postgraduate scholarship designed to recognize leadership and service on student-athlete advisory committees at Pac-12 member institutions. Applicants were required to be in their final year of intercollegiate athletics eligibility during the 2011-12 academic year and were on track to graduate in the 2011-12 academic year when nominated.

Also nominated: Ainsley Oliver, Arizona; Austen Thompson, Arizona; Hillary Bach, Arizona State; Jamie Sandys, Arizona State; Josh Heidegger, Oregon; Kyndal Robarts, Utah; Sarah Martinez, Washington.