Eleven Pac-12 women's volleyball players earn AVCA All-America honors

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Eleven Pac-12 women’s volleyball players have been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Division I All-America teams, the AVCA announced Wednesday. 

The 11 student-athletes are the most All-America selections for the Pac-12 since 2009, when 13 players were honored by the AVCA. It is the 12th-consecutive year that the Pac-12 has had eight or more student-athletes on AVCA All-America teams, and the fourth-straight year that there have been at least four Pac-12 student-athletes on the first team. 

The awards will be presented December 20 in Seattle, Wash., at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The 2013 Division I Player of the Year will also be announced at the banquet. Each of the three AVCA All-America Teams are comprised of 14 athletes. 

The Pac-12 placed five players on the first team, including USC senior libero Natalie Hagglund who is the only player on the team to have earned first-team honors for three-consecutive seasons. Hagglund’s teammate Ebony Nwanebu, an outside hitter for the Trojans, joins her on the first team as the only freshman on the roster. WASHINGTON outside hitter Krista Vansant, the 2013 Pac-12 Player of the Year, is also a first-team recipient. Joining them on the first-team are STANFORD sophomore middle blocker Inky Ajanaku, who is the lone sophomore on the roster, and senior middle blocker Carly Wopat.

The second team selections from the Pac-12 were OREGON junior outside hitter Liz Brenner, a two-time second-team selection; USC sophomore outside hitter Samantha Bricio; Stanford sophomore setter Madi Bugg; and CALIFORNIA junior right-side hitter Christina Higgins

Two Pac-12 student-athletes were named to the third team, including Washington junior outside hitter Kaleigh Nelson and USC senior middle blocker Alexis Olgard

Pac-12 volleyball players who received honorable mention status were: Jordan Burgess, STAN, So., OH; Joan Caloiaro, CAL, Sr., S; Shelby Dalton, UTAH, Jr., OPP; Kyle Gilbert, STAN, Jr., L; Madi Kingdon, ARIZ, Jr., OH; Karsta Lowe, UCLA, Jr., OPP; Jenna Orlandini, WASH, Sr., L. 

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder