Football’s Sutton Becomes Eighth Repeat Winner Of Prestigious Morris Trophy

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University senior defensive tackle Will Sutton has been named a recipient of the prestigious Morris Trophy for the second straight season, the organization announced.
Sutton is just the fifth defensive player, and eighth overall, to repeat as the Morris Trophy recipient since the award’s inception in 1980, and is the first repeat winner in ASU history. This marks the seventh season a Sun Devil has earned Morris Trophy honors, which is the third most among all Pac-12 schools behind USC and Washington.
The Morris Trophy, given to the top offensive and defensive lineman in the Pac-12 Conference, is voted on by opposing lineman from the conference. UCLA guard Xavier S’ua-Filo earned the offensive honors.
Repeat Morris Trophy Recipients
2012-13 – Will Sutton, ASU (D)
2009-10 – Stephen Paea, OSU (D)
2007-08 – Alex Mack, California (O)
2006-07 – Sedrick Ellis, USC (D)
1991-92 – Lincoln Kennedy, Washington (O)
1990-91 – Steve Emtman, Washington (D)
1987-88 - Dana Wells, Arizona (D)
1987-88 – Roy Foster, USC (O)         
ASU's Morris Trophy Recipients
2013 – Will Sutton, defensive tackle 
2012 – Sutton
2002 - Terrell Suggs, defensive end

2001 - Levi Jones, offensive tackle

1997 - Jeremy Staat, rush tackle

1987 - Randall McDaniel, offensive guard

1986 - Danny Villa, offensive tackle
The award presentation will take place at the Washington Athletic Club on Jan. 16 at noon PT. Roy Foster, USC alum, and 1980 & 1981 winner will be the guest speaker, and Mike Gastineau, local Seattle sports enthusiast, will serve as MC.
Sutton’s 2013 Postseason Awards and Accolades
Pat Tillman Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year
Morris Trophy Recipient
First Team All-Pac-12
Frank Kush Captains Award
Mike Haynes Defensive MVP
AP First Team All-America
USA Today First Team All-America
CBS Sports First Team All-America
Fox Sports First Team All-America
Athlon Sports Second Team All-America
SB Nation Second Team All-America
Sports Illustrated Honorable Mention All-America First Team All-Pac-12
Athlon Sports First Team All-Pac-12
College Sports Madness First Team All-Pac-12
Sutton, two-time Pac-12 Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year and two-time AP First Team All-America, led a Sun Devils defense in 2013 that was third in the Conference in total defense (363.8 yards per game), tied for first in sacks (40 total sacks) and led the Conference in forced turnovers (31). He anchored an aggressive defense that has forced one turnover in 28-consecutive games, which is good for second in the country among FBS schools for longest-active streak.
About the Morris Trophy
The Morris Trophy is the college football award given annually to the top offensive lineman and defensive lineman in the Pacific-12 Conference. Founded by Traci Morris, it has been awarded since 1980 and it was Traci's idea to have players vote for the best opponent they faced on the field.
Selection Process
Winners of the Morris Trophy are selected by receiving the highest number of votes from opposing players. The process begins with each Pac-12 head football coach submitting the names of the top two offensive and defensive linemen on their team to the Morris Trophy office. A ballot is then created and distributed to opposing players in the conference. A maximum of eight defensive linemen and 10 offensive linemen from each team vote for the best player each has played against during the current season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder