Xavier Su’a-Filo Named 34th Annual Morris Trophy Winner

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – UCLA junior offensive guard Xavier Su’a-Filo was named the offensive winner of the 34th annual Morris Trophy.
The Morris Trophy is given annually to the most outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pac-12 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, in which the league’s starting offensive linemen vote for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players’ award.
Su’a-Filo, a 6-foot-3, 305-pound junior from Pleasant Grove, Utah, is a two-time All-Pac-12 first team selection, starting every game in his career on the offensive line for the Bruins. A team captain in 2013, he earned the team’s offensive most valuable player honors after playing both tackle and guard for a Bruins team that won nine or more games for the second-consecutive year, a feat the program hadn’t accomplished since the 1997 and 1998 seasons.
After earning All-Pac-10 honorable mention honors as a freshman in 2009, Su’a-Filo left for his two-year Mormon mission, but returned in 2012 to star on an offensive line that helped pave the way for former Bruins running back Johnathan Franklin, who set new school records for most career rushing yardage and most single-season rushing yardage. Su’a-Filo is only the second UCLA offensive lineman to earn the award and just the fourth Bruin overall to be honored.
The Morris Trophy is sponsored by the Washington Athletic Club, the 101 club, Athletic Awards of Seattle and the Morris Trophy Foundation. It was created by Traci (Morris) Drake in 1980 and named after her father, G. Patrick Morris. Su’a-Filo will be presented the award at a luncheon at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle on Thursday, January 16, 2014.
Su’a-Filo was also named an AP and USA Today second-team All-American. He will help lead a Bruins squad looking for their 10th victory on the season. UCLA will face Virginia Tech in the Sun Bowl on December 31. Kickoff is set for 11 a.m., PT, and will air on CBS.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder