Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

No. 24 OSU Tops No. 21 Stanford 21-14

Jan 11, 2014

Follow Oregon State Wrestlling on: Twitter | Facebook

Stanford, Calif. – The No. 24 Oregon State wrestling team defeats No. 21 Stanford 21-14, winning the last three bouts to clench its first Pac-12 victory.

Freshman Amarveer Dhesi (HWT) kicked things off for the Beavs, defeating Stanford’s Josh Marchok by an 11-4 decision, giving Oregon State an early 3-0 lead.

Stanford would claim the next 10 straight points, giving them a solid lead. Evan Silver collected a 12-3 major decision over Oregon State’s Joey Palmer (125), while Stanford’s Ryan Mango and Peter Russo each claimed decisions over Drew Van Anrooy (133) and Joey Delgado (141).

Seniors Scott Sakaguchi (149) and RJ Pena (157) got things back on track for the Beavers, earning six straight points. Sakaguchi defeated Donovan Halpin by a 10-5 decision, and Pena topped Bret Baumbach 7-3, cutting Stanford’s lead to just one.

The Cardinal gained a little steam in the 165 lb. match when Jim Wilson defeated Oregon State’s Toney Chay 10-2, giving them a 14-9 lead heading into the final three bouts.

The Beavers finished the match off strong, earning victories in the final three weight classes. Joe Latham (174) claimed a 9-4 decision over Stanford’s Kyle Meyer, bringing the Beavs within two. Austin Morehead (184) tallied six points for Oregon State, pinning Zach Nevills in 3:23, giving the Beavers an 18-14 lead.

In the final bout, Taylor Meeks (197) defeated Stanford’s Daniel Scherer by a 5-1 decision, clutching a 21-14 win for Oregon State and their first Pac-12 win of the season.

The Beavers travel to Bakersfield on Sunday to take on CSU Bakersfield. The match is set for 2 p.m. PT. Follow match updates at and

Results:HWT: Amarveer Dhesi decision Josh Marchok, 11-4 (OSU 3, Stanford 0)125: Evan Silver major decision Joey Palmer, 12-3 (OSU 3, Stanford 4)133: Ryan Mango decision Drew Van Anrooy, 6-3 (OSU 3, Stanford 7)141: Peter Russo decision Joey Delgado, 6-5 (OSU 3, Stanford 10)149: Scott Sakaguchi decision Donovan Halpin, 10-5 (OSU 6, Stanford 10)157: RJ Pena decision Bret Baumbach, 7-3 (OSU 9, Stanford 10)165: Jim Wilson major decision Toney Chay, 10-2 (OSU 9, Stanford 14)174: Joe Latham decision Kyle Meyer, 9-4 (OSU 12, Stanford 14)184: Austin Morehead fall Zach Nevills, 3:23 (OSU 18-14)197: Taylor Meeks decision Daniel Scherer, 5-1 (OSU 21, Stanford 14)