Twelve Pac-12 softball players named to USA Softball Player of the Year watch list

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The annual watch list for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year features 12 student-athletes from Pac-12 institutions, as announced by the organization today. Players from six different Conference schools were named to the 50-member watch list for the award, which has been won by a Pac-12 student-athlete four of a possible 12 times. 

Now in its 13th year, the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, given by the National Governing Body for softball in the United States, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. 

The Pac-12 has consistently fielded the best players in collegiate softball, as evidenced by at least 12 players being named to the top-50 watch list for each of the past six years. Previous Pac-12 players to be named the Collegiate Player of the Year are Stanford infielder Ashley Hansen (2011), UCLA catcher Stacey Nuveman (2002) and Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie (2009, 2010). 

The 2014 softball season opens on Thursday, Feb. 6 with more exposure than ever. For more information, as well as a full television schedule including a record 69 live softball games, visit

2014 USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List (Pac-12 only):
UTIL Kayla Bonstrom, Stanford
P/UTIL Ally Carda, UCLA
INF Cheyenne Coyle, Arizona State
P Dallas Escobedo, Arizona State
C Amber Freeman, Arizona State
P Cheridan Hawkins, Oregon
OF Victoria Hayward, Washington
P Kaitlin Inglesby, Washington
UTIL Stephany LaRosa, UCLA
C Alexa Peterson, Oregon
OF Janie Takeda, Oregon
UTIL Hallie Wilson, Arizona

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder