Baseball’s Legacy Returns For Alumni Game Feb. 8

TEMPE, Ariz. - College Baseball Hall of Famer Oddibe McDowell headlines a cast of former Sun Devil Baseball letterwinners returning to Tempe for the Alumni Game on Feb. 8 at 1 p.m. at Packard Stadium. Admission and parking are free, and concessions will be available for purchase.
The annual event showcases the storied legacy of the program as it welcomes back former players such as McDowell, an outfielder from 1983-84, and the 1984 Golden Spikes Award winner and Co-Pac-10 Player of the Year, two-time First-Team All-American, and member of the 1984 All-College World Series team.
A number of current minor league players highlight the past letterwinners competing Saturday, including Andrew Aplin (10-12), Seth Blair (08-10), Jake Borup (09-10), Matt Newman (08-11), Kevin Rawitzer (92-93), Riccio (09-11) and Raoul Torrez (07-10), Trevor Williams (11-13) and Andy Workman (08-11).
It is also a chance to see the 2014 team, ranked preseason No. 19 in the nation by USA Today Coaches’ Poll, take the field before the regular season begins on Feb. 14 against Baylor at 2:30 p.m. at Packard Stadium.
The Devils return a pair of All-Americans in sophomore pitchers Ryan Burr and Ryan Kellogg, as well as All-Pac-12 outfielder Trever Allen, freshmen All-American RJ Ybarra and a host of other contributors. Burr was named a Baseball America preseason Third Team All-American by Baseball America, and joins Kellogg and fellow sophomore pitcher Brett Lilek in the top 26 of Baseball America’s ranking of the 50 top sophomore prospects.
Notable former Sun Devils at the 2013 Alumni Game included Hubie Brooks, Travis Buck, Kole Calhoun, Ron Davini, Mike Kelly, Ken Landreaux, Mike Leake, Jerry Maddox, Paul Lo Duca, Ken Phelps and legendary cach Bobby Winkles. Eighty-one total letterwinners, including 17 current and former Major League Baseball players, 16 current Minor League Baseball players, 17 All-American, six Hall of Famers, four National Players of the Year and one College World Series Most Outstanding Player, either played or attended. Click here for a full list of former players at the game.
The Sun Devils are playing the 40th and final season at historic Packard Stadium, which has been home to ASU for every season except 2002 since it was built in 1974. It has played host to two national championship teams, 18 NCAA Regional tournaments and more than 1,100 ASU victories, and the entire 2014 season will serve as a celebration of the program’s 40 years of baseball inside the stadium. Every era of Sun Devil baseball will be honored, long-time season ticket holders will be recognized, and former players and moments will be remembered.
A select line of merchandise bearing the official “Tip Your Cap To Packard” logo is available now at Sparky’s Stadium Shop, located in the Carson Student-Athlete Center, and will also be sold on gamedays at the team shop at Packard Stadium.
Click here for a full list of “Farewell To Packard” promotions, which includes themed weekends, the return of legendary players and coaches, an All-Packard Team voted on by the fans, and more.
Single-game tickets and Mini Packs are on sale now, as well as season tickets starting at $99. Admission for ASU students is free with a valid Sun Card.  
Purchasing season tickets will also give fans first opportunity and priority at selecting seats at Phoenix Municipal Stadium in 2015. Other benefits include reserved lot parking and vouchers for the annual Sanderson Ford College Baseball Classic in Surprise, Ariz. 
Fans can purchase tickets online at, by phone at 480-727-000 or by visiting the Sun Devil Stadium Ticket Office, located at the south end of Sun Devil Stadium.
Join the conversation all season using the hashtag #OccupyPackard. 
Twitter: @ASU_Baseball | Facebook: Sun Devil Baseball | Instagram: ASU_Baseball

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder