Baseball’s Tradition, Legacy Takes The Field In 2014 Alumni Game

A father faced off against his son, a trio of brothers manned the infield, the last two Sun Devils to record no-hitters each took the mound and College Baseball Hall of Famer was there to personally welcome the more than 130 current and former Sun Devil Baseball players at the 2014 Alumni Game.
The storied tradition and history of the Sun Devil Baseball program took the field on Saturday in front of more than 1,500 fans at Packard Stadium as the 2014 edition beat the Alumni, 11-5.
Dave Graybill (1982-84) came into the game with one out in the first inning for one batter to face his son, first baseman David Graybill, and went up 2-0 in the count before hitting him on the fourth pitch of the at-bat.
Along with the Graybill’s, Raoul Torrez (2007-10) pitched to his youngest brother, sophomore infielder Emilio Torrez, while All-College World Series Sun Devil legend Ken Phelps coached third and College Baseball Hall of Famer Oddibe McDowell watched from the dugout.
Sophomore left-hander Kellogg, who notched the Devils’ last no-hitter in March 2013 against Oregon State, tossed four innings, while Kevin Rawitzer, who threw a no-hitter against Southern Utah in February 1992, pitched in the sixth inning.
Four freshmen batted in the final seven runs, including four RBI by infielder David Greer, and right-handers senior Zak Miller and freshman Hever Bueno kept the Alums scoreless over the final three innings to lead the 2014 Devils.
Sophomore right-hander Eric Melbostad pitched the fifth and sixth innings, before Miller tossed a scoreless seventh and eighth inning before Bueno closed out the win for the Devils.
Right-hander Trevor Williams (2011-13) started on the mound for the Alums and struck out center field Johnny Sewald before giving up the first hit of the game to shortstop Drew Stankiewicz. Williams returned to the game after the Graybill’s faceoff and gave up the first run on a wild pitch, but struck out three.
Andrew Aplin (2010-12) led off for the Alums in the bottom of the first with an infield single and, after an out by Michael Benjamin (2011-13), scored on an RBI single by Riccio Torrez (2009-11) to tie the game at one run apiece.   
Right-hander Robert Ravago (2012) pitched the second inning and gave up a pair of free bases, but was able to get out of the second inning without giving up a run. Kasey Coffman (2011-13) began the bottom of the second inning for the alums with a double off Kellogg and catcher Max Rossiter (12-13) drove him home two batters later on a deep RBI single as the alums took a 2-1 advantage.
Left-hander Matt Dunbar (2012-13) took the mound for the third inning and Graybill promptly knotted the game, 2-2, with a towering solo home run over the left field wall. Infielder Dalton DiNatale drove in the second run of the inning on a single to left to put the 2014 team ahead again, 3-2.
Jake Borup (2009-11) tossed a scoreless top of the fourth, but had some help from three-time First-Team All-Pac-10 catcher Petey Paramore (06-08), who caught Sewald stealing second for the second out of the frame.
Adrian Gomez (2012) allowed one run in the top of the fifth as the Devils took a 4-2 lead, but alum Rocky Laguna (2004-07) evened the score with a two-run homer to right field off Melbostad in the bottom of the frame.
A trio of freshmen batted in five runs off Carlos Arguello (2002-03) in the top of the seventh inning to stake the Devils a commanding 9-5 lead. Greer began the offensive onslaught with a three-run triple and catcher Brian Serven followed with an RBI single before infielder Cooper Esmay finished it off with a run-scoring double.
Greer and freshman catcher Zach Cerbo each knocked in RBI singles in the ninth inning off Joe Hataski (2007), who threw the final two frames for the Alums.  
Alumni interviews
Pregame – Oddibe McDowell
Middle of the first – Hayden Moss
Middle of the second – Andrew Aplin
Top of the third – Ken Phelps
Middle of the third – Brody Stevens
Top of the fifth – Jerry Maddox
Middle of the fifth – Jacob Cruz
Top of the seventh - Raoul Torrez
Top of the eighth – Trevor Williams 
Alumni roster

*101 total letterwinners
*11 Major League Baseball players (MLB)
*19 current Minor League Baseball players (MiLB)
*7 Hall of Famers - College Baseball/Arizona State Hall of Fames (CB/ASU HOF)
*95 combined College World Series appearances (CWS)
*2 combined National Player of the Year Award winners (POY)
*10 combined National Championships (NC)
*20 All-American honors (AA)
*8 members of Team USA (USA)
Head Coach: Oddibe McDowell
Assistant Coach: Ken Phelps
57-60 – John Jacobs (ASU HOF)
59, 61-62 – Bill Gorman
60-62 – Dan Ikeda
61 – Dick Havertine
61-62 – Harley Anderson
61-64 – Sam Cook (CWS)
62-63 – Dennis Starkins
63-64 – John Ruedy (CWS)
64-66 – John Pavlik (ASU HOF, 2CWS, NC, AA)
65-66 – Jim Armstrong (NC, CWS)
65-66 – Glenn Smith (NC, CWS)
66 – John Choat
66-67 – Ralph Carpenter (NC, CWS)
66-68 – Steve Kolesar (CWS, NC)
67-68 – Fred Nelson (ASU HOF, CWS, NC, AA)
70-71, 73 – Bill Berger (AA, CWS)
74-75 – Jerry Maddox (MLB, ASU HOF, POY, AA, CWS)
77-79 - Jamie Allen (MLB, NC, 2CWS)
80-83 - Bert Martinez (NC, 2CWS)
81-83 – James Jackson (2CWS, NC)
81-84 – Kendall Carter 1981-’84 (ASU HOF, 3CWS, NC, AA)
82-83 – Oddibe McDowell (CB/ASU HOF, POY, MLB, USA, 2AA)
82-84 - Dave Graybill (2CWS)
82-84 – Gilbert Villanueva (2CWS)
83-85 – Doug Henry (MLB, 2CWS)
83-85 – Charles Scott (2CWS)
84-85 – Louie Medina (MLB, CWS)
85-86, 88 - Kurt Dempster (CWS)
85-89 – Bobby Dombrowski (2CWS)
86 – Rodger Smith
86-87 - Mike Benjamin (MLB, ASU HOF, AA, CWS)
86-87 – Tim Esmay (CWS, USA)
86-87 – Bill Schorr (CWS)
87-88 – Blas Minor (MLB, 2CWS)  
87 – Tony Mattia (CWS)
88 – Joe Rocha (CWS)
88-90 – Kip Yaughn (CWS)
89-92 – David Robson
89-92 – Steve Brody
90 – Ken Alexander
91-93 – Bill Dunn (CWS)
91-94 – Jacob Cruz (MLB, 2CWS, AA)
91-94 – Todd Delnoce (2CWS)
93 – Kevin Rawitzer (CWS)
93-94 – Scott Schores (2CWS)
94-95 – Damon Lembi (CWS)
94-95 – Billy Neal (CWS)
94-96 – Kaipo Spenser (CWS, AA, USA)
96 – Widd Workman
96 – Jon Wente
96-98 – Colin Call (CWS)
96-99 – Andrew Beinbrink (CWS, AA)
97-01 – Tyler Johnson (CWS)
99 – Abe Mohler
99-00 – Brian Berger
99-01 – Brooks Conrad (MLB)
00-02 – Cesar Castillo
00-03 – Steve Garrabrants (AA)
00-03 – Dennis Wyrick
01-03 – Mark Sopko
02 – Doug Schutt
02-03 – Carlos Arguello
02-04 – Joel Bocchi
02-05 – Jeff Larish (MLB, CWS, USA, AA)
03 – Mike Guerrero
03-04, 06 – Frank Mesa
03-06 – Brett Bordes (CWS)
03-06 – Seth Dhaenens (CWS)
04-08 – Rocky Laguna (2CWS)
05, 07-08 – Greg Bordes (2CWS)
06 – Daryl Arreola
06-08 – Petey Paramore (USA, CWS)
06-07 – Matt Trink (CWS)
07 – Joe Hatasaki (CWS)
07 – Jason Mitchell (CWS)
07-08 – Hayden Moss (CWS)
07-10 – Raoul Torrez (MiLB, 3CWS)
08-10 – Seth Blair (MiLB, 2CWS, AA)
08-11 – Matt Newman (MiLB, USA, 2CWS)
08-11 – Andy Workman (MiLB, 2CWS)
09-10 – Kole Calhoun (MLB, 2CWS)
09-10 – Joke Borup (MiLB, 2CWS)
09-11 – Mitchell Lambson (MiLB, 2CWS)
09-11 – Riccio Torrez (MiLB, AA, 2CWS)
09-11 – Zack MacPhee (MiLB, 2CWS, AA)
09-11 – Johnny Ruettiger (MiLB, 2CWS)
09, 11-12 – Abe Ruiz (CWS)
10 – Merrill Kelly (MiLB, CWS)
10-11 – Daniel Milner (CWS)
10-12 – Joey DeMichele (MiLB, AA, CWS)
10-12 – Brady Rodgers (MiLB, AA, USA, CWS)
10-12 – Andrew Aplin (MiLB, CWS)
10-13 – Alex Blackford (MiLB, CWS)
11 – Kramer Champlin (MiLB)
11 – Kyle Ottoson
11-13 – Trevor Williams (MiLB, AA, USA)
11-13 – Michael Benjamin (MiLB, AA)
11-13 – James McDonald (MiLB)
12 – Adrian Gomez
12 – Robert Ravago (MiLB)
12-13 – Matt Dunbar
12-13 – Max Rossiter

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder