Skip to main content

Brittany Boyd Named To Final Nancy Lieberman Award List

Feb 24, 2014

BERKELEY – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced 22 watch list final candidates for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award, and California junior guard Brittany Boyd was one of the selections for the award that recognizes the top point guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball.

Candidates exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman. The Lieberman Award winner will be announced during Final Four weekend activities in April.

Boyd has also been named to the midseason lists for the Dawn Staley Award (Phoenix Club of Philadelphia), the Naismith Trophy (Atlanta Tip-Off Club) and the Wooden Award (Los Angeles Athletic Club), in addition to being included on the initial and updated Wade Trophy (WBCA) award lists. Boyd is one of just four players in the country to be named to all five of those lists, joining Jerica Coley (FIU), Bria Hartley (UConn) and Odyssey Sims (Baylor) as players honored by all five organizations this season.

Boyd is averaging 14.7 points, 6.6 rebounds, 5.7 assists and 3.0 steals per game for the Golden Bears. She leads the Pac-12 in steals and assists while ranking 10th in the NCAA in steals per game. Boyd is the only non-senior on the NCAA’s active Top 25 list for career steals at 262.

2014 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates
Odyssey Sims, Baylor
Brittany Boyd, California
Bria Hartley, Connecticut
Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut
Jerica Coley, Florida International
Yashira Delgado, Florida State
Damika Martinez, Iona
Samantha Logic, Iowa
Valencia McFarland, Mississippi
Lindsay Allen, Notre Dame
Ashley Deary, Northwestern
Tiffany Bias, Oklahoma State
Fantasia Hilliard, Sacramento State
Amber Orrange, Stanford
Natasha Cloud, Saint Joseph's
Jamierra Faulkner, Southern Mississippi
Heather Butler, UT-Martin
Jennifer Newsome, UT-Martin
Andola Dortch, Toledo
Joanna Harden, Troy
Jennifer Schlott, Utah State
Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop