Skip to main content

Ed Gayda to be Inducted into Pac-12 Hall of Honor

Feb 26, 2014

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Washington State University men’s basketball great Ed Gayda will be one of 12 honorees inducted into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor, Friday, March 14, during a ceremony prior to the semifinal games at the 2014 Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nev., the conference announced.

Gayda played four seasons with the Washington State men’s basketball team from 1947-50 and served as captain of the 1950 Pacific Coach Championship team that finished the year ranked 18th nationally. He was selected All-Northern Division following his junior and senior seasons, also earning second-team honors as a sophomore. His 1,061 total career points ranked second at WSU at the time as he still ranks amongst Washington State’s all-time top-30 scorers He also scored 643 points in conference play, a school record at the time. During his senior year, he earned the Bill Rusch Memorial Award for Inspiration.

Upon completing his collegiate career, Gayda was drafted by the Tri-City Blackhawks, the team that later became the Atlanta Hawks, and played part of the season before deciding to enter the business world. He enjoyed successful careers in insurance, construction and investments before his retirement. He was inducted in to the WSU Athletics Hall of Fame in 1983.

Each year, every Pac-12 institution elects an individual from their university and selects them to be inducted into the Hall of Honor. The Pac-12 Hall of Honor was established in 2002 with the return of the Pac-12 tournament and now recognizes a former basketball great from each Pac-12 institution each year.

Joining Gayda as this year’s Hall of Honor inductees are: Luke Walton (Arizona), Verl Heap (Arizona State), David Butler (California), Ken Charlton (Colorado), Frederick Jones (Oregon), Lee Harman (Oregon State), Mark Madsen (Stanford), Tyus Edney (UCLA), Wayne Carlander (USC), Billy McGill (Utah) and Brandon Roy (Washington).

Washington State Hall of Honor Inductees:
2002 - Craig Ehlo
2003 - Jack Friel
2004 - George Raveling
2005 - Gene Conley
2006 - James Donaldson
2007 - Vince Hanson
2008 - Mark Hendrickson
2009 - Isaac Fontaine
2010 - Paul Lindemann
2011 - Ray Sunquist.
2012 – Steve Puidokas
2013 – Jim McKean
2014 – Ed Gayda