Skip to main content

Stanford Duo on Watch List

Feb 28, 2014

STANFORD, Calif. -- Stanford senior attack Rachel Ozer and sophomore midfielder Lucy Dikeou were named to the watch list for the Tewaaraton Award, the most prestigious annual honor in collegiate women’s lacrosse.

Ozer and Dikeous were among 51 women on the list (there also is a men’s award), which is presented by Panama Jack.

Other players will have a chance to play their way on. The lists will be expanded on March 20 and April 10. The number will be cut to 25 on April 24. Five finalists will be announced on May 8 and invited to the awards ceremony May 29 in Washington, D.C.

The addition of Dikeou brings the number of Stanford players on the list to eight since 2006. Lauren Schmidt ’10 and Laura Shane ’08 each were named to the list three times. Last year, Ozer, goalie Lyndsey Munoz and midfielder Anna Kim were named. All are seniors on this year’s squad.

Ozer was an IWLCA All-Region second-team and All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation first-team selection last season when she led the Cardinal with 48 goals, 24 assists, and 72 points. Ozer is the team’s top scorer this season with five goals, one assist, and 11 points in two games.

Dikeou has three goals and one assist this season after a 28-goal season in 2013. She earned All-MPSF second-team and conference all-tournament team honors.

The Tewaaraton Award first was presented in 2001. The award is affiliated with the Tewaaraton Foundation, which annually presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent.