Skip to main content

Stanford's Powell named 2014 Pac-12 men's basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Mar 13, 2014

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- The Pac-12 Conference has named STANFORD’s Dwight Powell as the 2014 Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The award has been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline. 

Powell, a senior forward for the Stanford men’s hoops team, has been a leader for the Cardinal both on and off the court. In play, the Toronto, Ontario, native has averaged 10.6 points and 6.3 rebounds per game over his four years on the Farm. In his senior season, he has averaged 14.1 points and 7.2 rebounds per game, having started in all of Stanford’s 30 contests. A preseason candidate for the Wooden Award this season, Powell has previously received NABC All-District second-team honors, as well as first team All-Pac-12 and the award for Pac-12 Most Improved Player of the Year in 2013. 

Powell is a two-time Pac-12 All-Academic honoree, receiving honorable mention his sophomore year and second team his junior year. He is also a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award, which recognizes student-athletes that excel in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. Pursuing a degree in Stanford’s science, technology and society program, Powell holds a 3.05 cumulative grade point average. 

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.

Other nominees included Angus Brandt of OREGON STATE and Omar Oraby of USC.