Men’s Golf To Head South For Duck Invite

Follow BeaversMGolf on Twitter

CORVALLIS, Ore. – The Oregon State men’s golf team will compete in three tournaments in the next three weeks, beginning with the 25th Annual Duck Invitational Monday and Tuesday in Creswell, Ore.

FIELD (16): Oregon State, Air Force, Boise State, Colorado, Gonzaga, Idaho, Loyola Marymount, Minnesota, Nevada, Oregon, Pacific, San Jose State, Santa Clara, St. Mary’s, Utah and Wyoming.

COURSE: The tournament will be held at the par-72, 7,165-yard Emerald Valley Golf Course.

BEAVERS’ LINEUP: Oregon State will go with a lineup of senior David Fink, juniors Alex Franklin and Scott Kim, sophomore Brian Jung and freshman Kevin Murphy.

FORMAT: Two-day, 54-hole tournament with 36 holes on Monday and 18 holes on Tuesday. The top-four individuals from each five-member team with the lowest scores for each 18-hole round constitute the scoring members for that given round.

TEE TIMES: There will be a shotgun start beginning at 8:30 a.m. on Monday and Tuesday. The Beavers will start on the first hole on Monday and be paired with Oregon, Colorado and Loyola Marymount.

LAST YEAR AT THE DUCK INVITATIONAL: David Fink posted his fourth top-10 finish of the season and Nick Chianello battled back after a tough start to card an even-par 72 in the final round, as Oregon State finished in a tie for fourth place at last year’s Duck Invitational.

The Beavers shot a 6-over 294 at the par-72, 7,020-yard Eugene Country Club and finished the two-day, 54-hole tournament with an 11-over 294-287-294--875 to tie Wichita State for fourth in the 15-team field.

Fink was 4-over through his first eight holes but rallied for three birdies and six pars over the final 10 to post a 1-over 73. He finished the tournament in a tie for eighth place with a 2-under 72-69-73--214, which was impressive enough, but even more so because he had missed the previous two events with mononucleosis.

Chianello started his final round on the par-5 sixth hole with a snowman, which would have forced most players to throw in the towel, but he scrambled to finish with three birdies and 14 pars for an impressive 72. The perseverance paid off for the senior as he moved 14 spots up the leaderboard to finish in a tie for 22nd with a 4-over 72-76-72--220.

Scott Kim had a solid round going until taking a triple-bogy on his final hole, the par-3 fifth, but still finished third among Oregon State golfers on the individual leaderboard with a 6-over 73-72-77--222.

Nick Sherwood and Matt Rawitzer had key rounds on the final day to help the Beavers stay in the top five, as Sherwood fired a 2-over 74 and Rawitzer closed with a 3-over 75. Both players tied for 48th place with a 9-over 225, with Sherwood going 77-74-74 and Rawitzer shooting 78-72-75.

Playing as an individual, Brian Jung fired a 3-under 69 in the final round to climb 30 spots and finish in a tie for 20th with a 3-over 74-76-69--219. Tyler Carlson also competed as an individual and finished in a tie for 58th with an 11-over 74-80-73--227.

TOURNAMENT HISTORY: Oregon State has had success at the Duck Invitational as the Beavers won the team title and Anthony Arvidson claimed medalist honors in 1998, and Alex Moore shot the lowest round in school history, a 9-under 63, in 2011. Oregon State head coach Jon Reehoorn won the individual title in 2002 when he was a senior at Washington State.

LAST TIME OUT: Oregon State shot a 23-over 288-307-292--887 at the par-72, 7,033-yard San Diego Country Club to finish sixth at the 13-team Lamkin San Diego Classic on Monday, March 10 and Tuesday, Mach 11.

Alex Franklin shot a career-best 5-under 67 in the final round to jump all the way up from 41st place to a tie for 13th with a 2-over 73-78-67--218. Kevin Murphy also tied for 13th place after posting a 2-over 72-72-74--218 at the two-day, 54-hole tournament.

David Fink finished in a three-way tie for 32nd place after shooting an 8-over 70-79-75--224, Scott Kim finished in a tie for 48th with a 14-over 73-78-79--230 and Brett Johnson posted a 78-79-76--233 to finish in a tie for 59th in his first career tournament with the Beavers.

USC won the team title with a 12-under 286-286-280--852 and San Diego State finished second with a 5-under 283-287-289--859. Individually, Xander Schauffele of San Diego State claimed medalist honors with an 11-under 67-71-67--205.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder