All eight Pac-12 Gymnastics teams advance to regionals

Pac-12 Content Image
Patrick Chong

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The 2014 National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced Monday by the NCAA. All eight Pac-12 teams were selected to advance to the regionals and are spread out across five different sites. All regionals will be conducted on Saturday, April 5, 2014. 

UTAH was able to clinch the lone No. 1 seed in the Pac-12 and will be head to the Fayetteville Regional (Host Arkansas), with No. 2 seed UCLA and No. 4 seed ARIZONA STATE. They are joined by host Arkansas, Utah State and UC Davis. Arizona State, UCLA and Pac-12 Champion Utah will start competition at 4 p.m. CT.

No. 2 STANFORD and No. 4 ARIZONA will be traveling to Baton Rouge, Louisiana against host No. 1 LSU. Stanford was the runner-up at the 2014 Pac-12 Gymnastics Championships. Other teams participating in the regional are No. 3 Auburn, No. 5 Kent State and No. 6 Iowa State. The Cardinal and Wildcats ate set to begin competition at 4 p.m. CT.

The Minneapolis Regional hosted by Minnesota will showcase the Golden Bears of CALIFORNIA. Cal garnered the No. 4 seed and will be the lone Pac-12 team in Minnesota. The No. 1 seed in the Minneapolis Regional went to Oklahoma with No. 2 Illinois, host No. 3 Minnesota, No 5 Utah State, and No. 6 Utah State rounding out the competition which is set to begin at 6 p.m. CT.

No. 6 seed WASHINGTON will host the Seattle Regional. The Huskies are the only Pac-12 team that will serve as host this year. No. 1 seed Alabama, Nebraska, Boise State, Denver, and BYU will also be participating in the northwest regional. Competition will begin at 4 p.m. PT.

Lastly, OREGON STATE will compete in the University Park Regional where they will face off with the No. 1 seed Florida, host Penn. State, New Hampshire, Kentucky and Maryland. The Beavers are set to start competition at 4 p.m. ET.

The other regional site without a Pac-12 team include the Athens Regional (Host: Georgia). The top two teams and top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Birmingham, Ala. April 18-20, hosted by the University of Alabama and the Alabama Sports Foundation. 

In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network