This year in Pac-12 men's basketball

Eric Evans Photography

Download Complete Release (PDF)

•    The ARIZONA Wildcats captured their 13th Pac-12 regular season title, and first since the 2011 season, while the UCLA Bruins won their fourth Pac-12 Tournament title as they defeated Arizona in the championship game, 75-71. 

•    A league-record eight teams posted 20-wins during the 2013-14 campaign. The highly-competitive Pac-12 season rewarded the league with a record-tying six teams (ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, COLORADO, OREGON, STANFORD, UCLA) selected to participate in NCAA Tournament. Arizona obtained a coveted No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. It was the first time a Pac-12 team earned one of the four No. 1 seeds since UCLA in 2008, and the sixth time the Wildcats were the Tournament’s No. 1 seed. The Pac-12 showed it was worthy of the six selections as it compiled a 8-6 record in the NCAA Tournament with Arizona, Stanford and UCLA each reaching the Sweet Sixteen, with the Wildcats advancing to the Elite Eight before dropping a one-point overtime decision to Wisconsin. The eight wins in the NCAA Tournament were the most by the league since it posted an identical 8-6 mark in 2008. 

•    Arizona’s Nick Johnson and Aaron Gordon, and UCLA’s Kyle Anderson picked up several All-America honors as Johnson earned consensus honors after being selected first team All-America by USBWA, NABC and The Sporting News, as well as the Wooden Award All-America team. 

•    New look in 2014-15 for two Pac-12 teams as Ernie Kent will take over the reigns at WASHINGTON STATE and CALIFORNIA will have a new successor to replace Mike Montgomery, who retired after 32 years as a college head coach. Montgomery compiled a 677-316 record in 32 seasons (eight at Montana, 18 at Stanford, and six at California). His 282 wins in league play were third only to Hall-of-Famers Arizona’s Lute Olson (327) and UCLA’s John Wooden (305). On April 15, California hired Cuonzo Martin to replace Montgomery. Meanwhile, Kent returns to the coaching ranks for the first time since he was at Oregon from 1998-2010. Kent’s career record stands at 325-254 in 19 seasons as a head coach.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder