Skip to main content

Cal's Hagy named Pac-12 men's golf student-athlete of the year

Apr 24, 2014
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - CALIFORNIA’s Brandon Hagy has been named the 2014 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced by the Pac-12 Conference today. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.
Hagy, a senior from Westlake Village, Calif., is maintaining a 3.72 grade point average in business administration and scheduled to earn his bachelor’s degree form the Haas School of Business in May, 2014. He is currently ranked as high as the No. 4 amateur in the world and No. 6 collegiately, and has earned second-team All-American, All-Region and second-team All-Pac-12 honors. In addition, he’s a four-time individual medalist with 17 top-five showings and 21 finishes in the top 10. Hagy will represent the United States in the 2014 Palmer Cup and is also a national finalist for the Byron Nelson Award and national semifinalist for The Ben Hogan Award. He is an All-America Scholar, third-team Academic All-America, first-team Academic All-District 8 and two-time Pac-12 All-Academic selection.
"The Pac-12 Conference has great pride and respect for our rich history of academic and athletic excellence," said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott. "We are proud of this year's group of student-athletes and their dedication to achieving success in sports and in the classroom."
In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season.  The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.
A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.
The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.
Other nominees included: Erik Oja, ARIZ; David Fink, OSU; Cameron Wilson, STAN; Anton Arboleda, UCLA; Ramsey Sahyoun, USC; Gerrit Chambers, WASH.

Channel Finder >>