Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

David Berg Named to National Pitcher of the Year Watch List

Apr 25, 2014

Junior right-handed pitcher David Berg was named to another watch list today, being selected to the initial National Pitcher of the Year Watch List, as announced by the College Baseball Hall of Fame today. Berg was named to the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List earlier this week, handed out to the nation's top collegiate relief pitcher.

Berg, the 2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year award winner, has enjoyed as fine a career as any reliever in the history of college baseball. In three seasons, Berg has made a school record 126 appearances, breaking the previous mark of 119 set by Bill Wenrick from 1984-87, and has posted a 15-4 record with a 1.27 ERA. Berg also owns the NCAA single-season record for saves with 24 in 2013 and tied the NCAA record for most appearances in a season with 51 last year. Additionally, he became the first reliever in conference history to win Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year last season.

Berg was named to the All-Pac-12 Team for the second time in his career in 2013, making him just the 25th UCLA player all-time to receive all-conference acclaim at least twice. In addition, he finished second in the country in both WHIP (0.85) and ERA last year. Finally, Berg is the only pitcher in UCLA history to lead the conference in ERA in back-to-back seasons and is UCLA’s all-time record holder for most postseason appearances (17), postseason saves (6) and career saves (34).

This season, Berg has thrown 38.2 innings in 25 appearances (fourth-most in the nation and most in the Pac-12), all while logging a 3-1 record, nine saves and a 1.63 ERA (third-lowest in the Pac-12). In addition, he has allowed the second-fewest runs (9) and fifth-fewest hits (30) in the conference. Berg has also won 11 of his last 12 decisions dating back to 2012 and his nine saves are the third-most in the Pac-12 and 17th-most in the country. 

Berg is one of five pitchers from the Pac-12 Conference on the list, joining Oregon's Jeff Gold, Oregon State's Ben Wetzler and Jace Fry and Washington's Tyler Davis. The Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond, will be presented during the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas.