Skip to main content

No. 6 Women’s Golf Seeded Second in NCAA West Regional

Apr 28, 2014

By Lindsay Gaesser, SDA Media Relations

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.—The sixth-ranked Arizona State women’s golf team earned the No. 2 seed in the West regional, the NCAA announced Monday.  The Sun Devils will compete for an NCAA-record 23rd consecutive bid to the National Championships. 

The NCAA West regional, hosted by Washington, will be held at Tumble Creek Club at Suncadia Resort in Cle Elum, Wash., May 8-10.

Arizona State will face fellow Pac-12 competitors top-ranked USC, No. 8 Washington, and Oregon.  The top eight teams and two individuals from each region will advance to the NCAA Championships to be held May 20-23 at Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Okla. 

This season, the Sun Devils have recorded eight top-five finishes, including a fifth place finish at the 2014 Pac-12 Championships.  Junior Noemi Jimenez, ranked third in the nation according to Golfstat, leads the Sun Devils with her 71.30 scoring average through 30 rounds.  Jimenez has recorded top-five finishes in all five of the tournaments in which she has competed this spring season, and has nine top-10 finishes for the season overall.  Freshman Monica Vaughn has become a force to be reckoned with in her debut season for the Sun Devils.  With three top-10 finishes on the season, including her fifth place finish at the Pac-12 Championships, Vaughn will be a big contributor for Arizona State during NCAA play.   

Arizona State is the winningest program in NCAA history with seven NCAA Championships and a current streak of 22 consecutive National Championships appearances. 

Hosted by Washington

1.     Southern California
2.     Arizona State
3.     Oklahoma (Big 12 Conference)
4.     Washington
5.     Clemson
6.     Wake Forest
7.     Northwestern
8.     Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
9.     Iowa State
10.  GRU Augusta
11.  Oregon
12.  Texas A&M
13.  UC Davis (Big West Conference)
14.  Denver (Summit League Conference)
15.  San Diego State
16.  Wisconsin
17.  Gonzaga
18.  Notre Dame
19.  Tennessee
20.  Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
21.  New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
22.  New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
23.  Portland State (Big Sky Conference)
24.  Detroit (Horizon League Conference)