Skip to main content

Stanford's Rodgers named Men's Golfer of the Year

Apr 28, 2014

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Patrick Rodgers of STANFORD was named the Pac-12 Men’s Golfer of the Year, Rico Hoey of USC was named the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, and Stanford coach Conrad Ray was tabbed Pac-12 Coach of the Year in a voting by the Pac-12 men’s golf coaches. In addition, the 2014 All-Pac-12 Men’s Golf Team selected by the coaches was announced.

Rodgers, who hails from Avon, Ind., is the fourth different Stanford golfer to earn Golfer of the Year honors, and the first since Rob Grube shared the honors with Arizona State’s Alejandro Canizares in 2006. A semifinalist for the Hogan Award given annually to the nation’s top collegiate golfer, he has finished in the top five in six events this sea- son and has placed outside the top 10 just twice in 10 events. The junior claimed five tournament victories in 2013- 14, including four of the last five tournaments as he picked up medalist honors at the Prestige at PGA West (Feb. 17-19), Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters (Mar. 7-9), The Goodwin (Mar. 28-30), and most recently the Pac-12 Championship (Apr. 25-27). Only a second place finish at the Western Intercollegiate (Apr. 12-13) kept him from posting five straight wins. Rodgers has posted 10 tournament victories in three seasons on The Farm, just one win shy of the school record of 11 held by Tiger Woods. Currently ranked No. 1 in the latest Golfstat individual rank- ings, Rodgers carried a 69.44 stroke average into the Pac-12 Championship.

Hoey, from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., is the fifth Trojan to earn Freshman of the Year honors, and first since T.J. Vogel shared the honors in 2010. Hoey posted a 70.59 stroke average through 32 rounds, the second-best mark by a freshman in the nation. Hoey won medalist honors at the Gifford Collegiate (Nov. 4-5) and finished in the top five in five of 10 other events this season, including the last four tournaments leading into the Pac-12 Championship. Ranked No. 10 in the latest Golfstat rankings, he has recorded 14 rounds in the 60s, including a string of seven straight rounds prior to the Pac-12 Championship.

Ray, in his 10th year as head coach, led Stanford to its eighth Pac-12 Championship, and first since 1994. It’s the second time Ray has earned league coach of the year honors, having also earned the honors in 2007. During the 2013-14 season, the Cardinal took home five tournament titles and shared or placed second in two other tourna- ments. The Cardinal are currently ranked No. 3 in Golfstat, No. 6 in Golfweek. 

The Pac-12 golf awards and the All-Pac-12 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches. Following is the complete list of honors:

All-Pac-12 First Team

Name School Year Hometown
Brandon Hagy California Sr. Westlake Village, Calif.
Rico Hoey USC Fr. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Eri Oja Arizona Sr. Sandviken, Sweden
Jon Rahm Arizona State So. Barrika, Spain
Patrick Rodgers Stanford Jr. Avon, Ind.
Trevor Simsby Washington Sr. Carlsbad, Calif.
Joel Stalter California Sr. Amnevlle, France
Cameron Wilson Stanford Sr. Rowayton, Conn. 

All-Pac-12 Second Team

Name School Year Hometown
Lorens Chan UCLA So. Honolulu, Hawai’i
David Fink Oregon State Sr. Kailua, Hawai’i
Jonathan Garrick UCLA So. Atherton, Calif. 
Cheng-Tsung Pan Washington So. Bradenton, Fla.
Anthony Paolucci USC Jr. Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.
Jeremy Paul Colorado Fr. Viernheim, Germany
Corey Pereira Washington Fr. Cameron Park, Calif.
Jonathan Sanders Washington So. Chatsworth, Calif. 

Honorable Mention: Pace Johnson, Sr., CAL; Jeffrey Kang, Sr., USC; Keelan Kirkpatrick, So., CAL; Thomas Lim, Fr., ORE; Alex McMahon, Jr., ARIZ; Maverick McNealy, Fr., STAN; Austin Quick, Jr., ASU; Paul Smith, Jr., USC; Blake Snyder, Sr., WSU; Eric Sugimoto, Jr., USC; Michael Weaver, Sr., CAL.

All-Pac-12 Freshman Team

Name School Hometown
Rico Hoey USC Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. 
Thomas Lim Oregon Moorpark, Calif.
Maverick McNealy Stanford Portola Valley, Calif.
Jeremy Paul Colorado Viernheim, Germany
Corey Pereira Washington Cameron Park, Calif. 

Honorable Mention: Kevin Murphy, OSU. 

Pac-12 Player of the Year: Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Rico Hoey, USC
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Conrad Ray, Stanford