Eight Pac-12 men's golf teams headed to NCAA Regionals

Arizona Athletics

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2014 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships as eight teams and four individuals will compete in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 15-17.

The Pac-12 earned a pair of No. 1 seeds in the six regionals. Pac-12 champion STANFORD is the No. 1 seed in the Eugene Region (Eugene Country Club, Eugene, Ore.), while the CALIFORNIA Golden Bears earned the No. 1 seed in the Sugar Grove Region (Rich Harvest Farms, Sugar Grove, Ill.).

Other Pac-12 teams selected for the NCAA Regionals include WASHINGTON (No. 2 seed in the Raleigh Region - Lonnie Poole Golf Course, Raleigh, N.C.), UCLA (No. 3 seed in the San Antonio Region - Briggs Ranch Golf Club, San Antonio, Texas), USC (No. 3 seed in the Sugar Grove Region), ARIZONA STATE (No. 5 seed in the Columbia Region - The Club at Old Hawthorne, Columbia, Mo.), OREGON (No. 7 seed in the Eugene Region), COLORADO (No. 8 seed in the Auburn Region - Auburn University Club, Auburn, Ala.).

Four individuals were at-large selections - ARIZONA’s Eric Oja and Alex McMahon (San Antonio Region); OREGON STATE’s David Fink and Alex Franklin (Eugene Region).

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, which will be held May 23-28, at the Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan. (Wichita State, host).

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 14 NCAA team titles and produced 16 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-12 has netted three team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 - UCLA) and five individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA; 2013 - Max Homa, CAL).

NCAA Championships Format
All 30 teams and six individuals advancing from regional play will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-15. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the number one seed playing the number eight seed, the number two seed versus the number seven seed, the number three seed versus the number six seed, and the number four seed versus the number five seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder