Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Fusco, Soenksen Named to MPSF All-Tournament Team

May 6, 2014

DENVER – University of Colorado lacrosse standouts Johnna Fusco and Paige Soenksen were named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Tournament Team, the conference announced Monday. The freshmen, both All-MPSF First Team selections, were an important part of the Buffaloes inaugural season that concluded at the MPSF semi-finals.

Fusco, Marietta, Ga. native, led the Buffs on the offense in both of their conference tournament games. Against San Diego State, Fusco had a game-high five points off three goals and two assists. She netted the sudden victory game-winner to help CU to a 9-8 double overtime postseason win. In the semis, Fusco once again led the Buffs, scoring two goals and contributing an assist.

Fusco ended the season leading the team with 45 goals, 62 points and 95 shots, tied for first on the team with 12 free-position goals and 17 assists and ranked second with 33 ground balls and 50 draw controls.

Soenksen, a goalie from Encinitas, Calif., combined for 26 saves in CU’s first ever conference tournament. The MPSF Rookie of the Year had 10 saves against SDSU, grabbing seven in the first half alone. She had a ground ball, a caused turnover and 16 saves against No. 18 Stanford. She was just three saves shy of the career-high she first recorded in the teams’ regular season meeting.

Soenksen ranks second nationally in saves (203) and saves per game (10.68) and third nationally in save percentage (.525). She posted a 10.08 goals-against average in 1095:17 minutes between the pipes, while also grabbing 14 ground balls and contributing an assist.

2014 MPSF All-Tournament Selections
No. Student-Athlete Position Team
44 Hannah Hook (MVP) G Denver
31 Vicki Porter D San Diego State
1 Courtney Tarleton D USC
4 Sami Kiser A Oregon
7 Nikki Puszcz M Oregon
1 Paige Soenksen G Colorado
16 Johnna Fusco A Colorado
3 Rachel Ozer A Stanford
9 Hannah Farr M Stanford
8 Adrienne Anderson D Stanford
8 Meredith Harris M Denver
10 Jenn Etzel A Denver
18 Annabelle Gilbride M Denver