Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

California Ready For 15th Consecutive NCAA Regional

May 7, 2014

BERKELEY - California returns makes its 15th consecutive NCAA Regional appearance this weekend when the Bears tee off at the NCAA Central Regional that will be held at the Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla., this Thursday through Saturday.

With tee times set for 7:30 a.m. on Thursday at the par-72, 6,200-yard course, the Bears will go with the lineup of of Nicola Rössler, Hannah Suh, Lucia Gutierrez, Carly Childs and Jo Ee Kok for the second consecutive week and the sixth time this season.

The quintet combined for some of Cal’s best overall tournament this season after taking fifth at the Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational (October 8-9), seventh at the Bruin Wave Invitational (March 3-4), fourth at the BYU Entrada Classic (March 17-18), sixth at the SDSU Farms Invitational (March 24-26) and seventh at the Pac-12 Championships (April 25-27).

Eight teams from the field of 24 teams and the top two individuals not on those eight teams will advance from the three Regionals. The NCAA National Championships will be held May 20-23 in Tulsa, Okla.

Cal will look to qualify for the National Championship rounds for the second time in four years. Cal, a team that has advanced out of the regional and qualified for the National Championship seven times, including 2011 when the Bears finished 5th at the East Regional and went on to finish 12th at the National Championships. The Bears’ best finish at the Regionals came in 2003 when the team won the Central Regional. Last season, Cal placed 18th at the West Regional.

COURSE: Karsten Creek Golf Club (par 72; 6,200 yards) – Stillwater, Okla.

FORMAT: Three-day, 54-hole tournament with 18 holes each day. The top-four individuals from each five-member team with the lowest scores for each 18-hole round constitute the scoring members for that given round. The top eight finishing teams and the two highest finishing individuals not on one of those eight teams will advance to play in the NCAA Women’s Golf Championship Finals at the Tulsa Country Club (Tulsa, Okla.) from May 20-23.

Oklahoma State (Host School)
North Carolina
Ohio State
Miami (Fla.)
Mississippi State
Kent State (Mid-American Conference Champion)
Harvard (Ivy Group Champion)
Lamar (Southland Conference Champion)
Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference Champion)
Long Island (Northeast Conference Champion)
Siena College (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Champion)