Men’s Golf Honored For Academic Achievement

Pac-12 Content Image

Follow BeaversMGolf on Twitter

CORVALLIS, Ore. – The Oregon State men’s golf team earned an NCAA Public Recognition Award on Wednesday for posting scores in the top 10 percent of its sport in the 2012-13 Academic Progress Rate (APR).

The APR is an annual scorecard of academic achievement calculated for all Division I sports teams nationally. Teams must meet a certain academic threshold to qualify for the postseason, and they also can face penalties for continued low academic performance.

The 1,049 teams publicly recognized for high achievement in represent 631 women’s teams and 418 men’s or mixed squads. In 2013, 976 teams were recognized.

The scores required to be in the top ten ranged from 980 to a perfect 1,000, depending on the sport, with the majority of top 10 teams earning a perfect APR.

This is the seventh time an Oregon State team has earned an NCAA Public Recognition Award and the first since 2009-10. Other teams to receive the prestigious recognition are women’s track, indoor (2009-10), women’s golf (2008-09), women’s track, outdoor (2006-07 and 2005-06) and women’s cross country (2005-06 and 2006-07).

Student-athletes on the 2012-13 Oregon State golf team were: Tyler Carlson, Nick Chianello, David Fink, Brett Johnson, Brian Jung, Scott Kim, Matt Rawitzer, Nick Sherwood and Chris Tedesco.

“As a coach, I want our guys to be successful on the course, but it’s more important to make sure they graduate with a meaningful degree,” Oregon State head coach Jon Reehoorn said. “This award is a credit to the hard work and sacrifices they have made to be successful in the classroom and on the golf course. It wouldn’t be possible without the support of our academic services department and all of the resources they provide for each of our student-athletes.”

Background on APP Public Recognition Announcement.

Each year, the NCAA honors selected Division I sports teams by publicly recognizing their latest multiyear NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate (APR).  This announcement is part of the overall Division I academic reform effort and is intended to highlight teams that demonstrate a commitment to academic progress and retention of student-athletes by achieving the top APRs within their respective sports.  Specifically, these teams posted multiyear APRs in the top 10 percent of all squads in each sport.  This year's release will again include recognition in the sport of football by subdivision (i.e., Football Bowl Subdivision and Football Championship Subdivision).

The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship.  The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team's academic performance. 

Multiyear APRs for all Division I sports teams, including the teams receiving public recognition, will be announced May 14.  That announcement also will include APP penalties for low-performing teams, teams subject to postseason ineligibility and head coach APRs.  As in past years, you will be notified prior to this public release of scores, postseason ineligibility and penalties.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network