Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Oregon crowned Pac-12 Champion as teams begin WCWS action

May 13, 2014

Download Complete Release (PDF)
Media Guide
2014 NCAA Softball Division I Championship Info 

The Ducks clinched their second-consecutive Pac-12 softball title on Friday night as well as the No. 1 overall seed in the Women’s College World Series as five teams begin postseason action this upcoming weekend ... OREGON’s top seed was joined by No. 3 UCLA, No. 9 ARIZONA STATE, No. 11 ARIZONA and No. 12 WASHINGTON. All five teams will host opening regional rounds beginning May 15 and lasting through May 18, where the advancing team will be determined by double-elimination play among four teams at each regional ... The five teams also finished the regular season ranked in the top 10 in the NFCA poll for the second-consecutive week, led by Oregon at No. 1 for the sixth-consecutive week ... Four Pac-12 softball student-athletes were named top-10 finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year ... The final weekly honors of the 2014 season went to Oregon State’s Dani Gilmore for Player of the Week and UCLA’s Ally Carda for Pitcher of the Week. 


Seattle Regional
Thursday, May 15
Northwestern vs. BYU, 4:30 p.m. PT
#12 WASHINGTON vs. Iona, 7 p.m. PT

Eugene Regional
Friday, May 16
Albany vs. Wisconsin, 2 p.m. PT
#1 OREGON vs. Utah Valley, 5 p.m. PT, P12N

Tempe Regional
Friday, May 16
San Diego State vs. Michigan, 12:30 p.m. PT, ESPNU
#9 ARIZONA STATE vs. Dartmouth, 3 p.m. PT, ESPNU

Los Angeles Regional
Friday, May 16
Long Beach State vs. Notre Dame, 3 p.m. PT, ESPN3
#3 UCLA vs. Southern Utah, 6 p.m. PT, ESPN3

Tucson Regional
Friday, May 16
Louisville vs. LSU, 5:30 p.m. PT, ESPN3
#11 ARIZONA vs. Boston U, 8 p.m. PT, ESPNU

About the Women’s College World Series: The championship will be three weekends of competition. Regionals for the NCAA Division I Softball Championship will be held May 15-18 on 16 campus sites. At each campus site, a four-team, double-elimination tournament will be conducted and the 16 winning teams advance to the Super Regionals. Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams are paired by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams within the same conference were not paired during regional competition. Only 11 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, five of which are from the Pac-12, and eight are in this year’s bracket.

• The Pac-12 has had at least three teams in the NCAA Tournament every year since the Conference began sponsoring softball in 1987.
• UCLA’s 31 appearances are the most of all teams in the 64-squad field, followed by Arizona’s 28, Florida State’s 26 and Arizona State’s 26. 
• All nine Pac-12 teams have made an appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Pac-12 has a combined total of 186 appearances at the WCWS with a combined record of 721-351.
• The Conference has sent a team to the final series a remarkable 29 of 32 years.
• There have only been 11 different teams to win a National Title in softball with five of those teams from the Pac-12. The Pac-12 has won the title an astounding 23 times, the most of any conference in the nation. There have been 12 occasions when the NCAA Championship series featured two Conference schools.