Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Davis, Wolfe Breakout Player Of The Year Candidates

May 14, 2014
Red Box Pictures

OMAHA, Neb. - The watch list for the 2014 Gregg Olson Award presented by Toolshed Sports, for "Breakout Player of the Year" was announced and Washington's Tyler Davis and Brian Wolfe were among the 80 players that made the initial cut.

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

Davis, a right-handed pitcher from Mountain View, Calif., is 10-1 on the season with a 1.77 ERA. He entered the year with a 4-11 career record and 4.32 ERA in 44 games.

Davis has emerged as one of the top pitchers in the nation and is on the Golden Spikes Midseason Watch List. He is tied for the Pac-12 lead in wins and third in ERA.

Wolfe, a senior outfielder from Snohomish, Wash., is second in the Pac-12 with a .382 batting average and .535 slugging percentage. He also ranks fourth with a .445 on-base percentage and is tied for eighth with 32 RBI.

Wolfe entered the season with a .215 average in 200 at bats over his first three seasons. As a junior in 2013 he hit .233 in 39 games.

Initial nominations were made by sports information/media contacts from schools across the country. The finalists and winner will be determined by an independent panel.

Semifinalists are slated to be named, Friday, May 30th at the start of NCAA Regional play and the finalists are scheduled to be announced on Friday, June 6th at the beginning of Super Regional action. 

The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 14-June 24/25.