Skip to main content

Doctor Named to Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

May 15, 2014

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – Oregon State senior linebacker Michael Doctor has been named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List, it was announced Wednesday. Doctor is among 42 nominees honoring college football’s best in character and performance.

Now in its 11th year, the Lott IMPACT Trophy goes to the college football defensive player who has the biggest IMPACT on his team both on and off the field. IMPACT is an acronym for integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity.

“We continually strive to honor those young men who embrace the characteristics of Ronnie Lott and everything he stands for. Once again, we have a group of student-athletes who we believe live up to those very high standards and we look forward to watching them grow their already impressive resumes this fall, said John Hamilton, Chairman of the Board of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, sponsors of the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

There are 17 linebackers on this year’s list, 14 defensive backs and 11 defensive linemen. The Pac-12 leads the way with 12 nominees followed by the SEC with eight, the ACC and Big-12 with seven apiece, the Big Ten with six and the Mountain West with one along with one player from Notre Dame.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy was named in honor of Ronnie Lott – a two-time All-American for USC and College Football Hall of Fame inductee. Ronnie Lott went on to win four Super Bowl rings with the San Francisco 49ers, ten trips to the Pro Bowl and a spot in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Always known as a fierce competitor, he was a leader who had IMPACT both on and off the field.

The winner will be announced at the annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Banquet Dec. 14 at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif.

Oregon State returns to the practice field in preparation for the upcoming season Aug. 4 with the season opener Aug. 30 at Reser Stadium against Portland State.

Deposits are being accepted for 2014 OSU season tickets for home games that include Portland State, San Diego State, Washington State, Arizona State, California, Utah and Oregon.