Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Bruin Water Polo Club Wins 2014 Fisher Cup With 6-5 Victory

May 19, 2014

LA JOLLA, Calif. -- The Bruin Water Polo Club sent two teams to the 2014 Fisher Cup at UC San Diego over the weekend (May 17-18) and the Bruin-A team was crowned the champion when it defeated the Olympic Club, 6-5, in the finals. The victory marked the first-ever Fisher Cup title for the Bruin Water Polo Club.

Anthony Daboub and Gordon Marshall led Bruin-A with two goals each in the finals. Danny McClintick and Cristiano Mirarchi each added a goal in the victory. Garrett Danner held the Olympic Club to just five goals, a tournament low for the runners-up, while making 10 saves and picking up one steal. The Olympic Club team features several U.S. Men's National Team players with Olympic experience as well as Bruin alum Cullen Hennessy.

In the semifinals, Bruin-A earned another huge win, defeating the New York Athletic Club, 7-6. Marshall again led the squad with three goals in the victory. Chris Fahlsing, Jack Fellner, McClintick and Mirarchi each scored a goal for Bruin-A. Danner was credited with 11 stops in the cage, including six on NYAC power plays. NYAC also featured several U.S. Men's National team players and Olympians as well as Bruin alumni Josh Samuels and Aimone Barabino.

Bruin-A defeated CORE (the club team of the University of California) 8-3 in the quarterfinals with Chancellor Ramirez leading the squad with three goals. Daboub, Fahlsing, McClintick, Mirarchi and Paul Reynolds each scored a goal for the victors. Danner again was superb in goal, making seven stops (five on 5-on-6) and three steals.

The Bruin-A squad opened the tournament with a commanding 17-4 victory over the USA Men's B Team, featuring Kent Inoue. Three players had hat tricks, including McClintick and Mirarchi and a team-high four goals from Daboub. Bruin-A also received two goals from Paul Reynolds and one goal each from David Culpan, Fahlsing, Fellner, Ramirez and Ryder Roberts. The squad used two goalkeepers in the win with Danner contributing three steals without allowing any goals. Elliott Ordway allowed four goals while picking up two stops and making one steal.

Daboub led the team in scoring with seven goals over the four games. McClintick and Mirarchi each scored six goals while Marshall added five scores. Ramirez rounded out the top five scorers with four goals. McClintick led the team with four field blocks while Danner had a team-high seven steals. Reynolds lead the team with four assists while Marshall drew a team-best eight exclusions.

The Bruin-B team also had a good showing at the Fisher Cup finishing in eighth place after falling to the International Blue team in the seventh-place game, 13-12, in a penalty shootout as the two teams were tied at the end of regulation.

The Bruin-B team consisted of Stephen White, James Hartshorne, Alek Ruzic, Patrick Woepse, Danny Marshall, Jack Grover, Maxwell Irving, Erik Najarian, Christopher Meinhold, Paul Pickell, James Robinson, Jesse Camou, Stephen Riggins and Jacob Murphy. They opened the Fisher Cup with a 14-10 win over International Red before falling 14-4 to the Olympic Club in the quarterfinals. The Bruin-B team also suffered an 8-5 setback in the 5th-8th semifinals to Newport Water Polo Foundation, featuring Lucas Reynolds. No statistics were available for the Bruin-B team.

In the third place game, Stanford battled back late in the match to topple defending champion, the New York Athletic Club, 13-12. CORE captured fifth with a 13-7 win over Newport.

The Santa Barbara Water Polo Club defeated UCSD 11-6 to capture ninth while USA-B topped the Waves 13-9 for 11th place. Rounding out the competition, Davis defeated Mexico 7-4 for 13th place and International Red bettered Carlsbad 11-7 for 15th place. Click here for complete tournament results.