Bear Trio Garner All-Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Honors

Pac-12 Content Image

BERKELEY – Three Golden Bears – senior Ben McLachlan, freshman Andre Goransson and senior Campbell Johnson – garnered All-Pac-12 Men’s Tennis honors, the league announced on Wednesday. McLachlan was a first-team all-conference selection, while Goransson and Johnson were honorable mention picks.  

McLachlan, a senior who ranked 55th in the ITA poll, reached the quarterfinals in the NCAA singles tournament, falling to eventual champion Marcos Giron of UCLA. The second-seeded and second-ranked player, Giron topped McLachlan, 6-1, 6-3. McLachlan – who ended the year with an 11-11 record and completed a fine Cal career in that match – garnered All-America honors for getting into the NCAA singles round of 16. He is a three-time all-league honoree, earning second-team accolades each of the last two seasons.

Goransson posted a 21-10 overall record, primarily playing at No. 4 singles. He recorded a 15-10 record in doubles action, primarily playing with McLachlan. The doubles team was ranked 86th in the most recent ITA poll.

Johnson owned a record of 20-11 at No. 2 singles for the Bears this season. He was 3-6 in doubles action. Johnson was a second-team All-Pac-12 selection in 2013.  

In the final ITA team rankings of the 2013-14 season, California finished at No. 16. As a team, the Bears reached the round of 16 in the NCAA Championship, ending the season with a 4-1 loss to ninth-seeded and ninth-ranked Texas. Cal ended the year with a 17-8 overall record, including a 4-3 record and fourth-place finish in the Pac-12 Conference.

Singles Player of the Year

Yannick Hanfmann, Jr., USC

Freshman/Newcomer of the Year

Mackenzie McDonald, UCLA

Doubles Team of the Year

Yannick Hanfmann/Ray Sarmiento, USC

Coach of the Year

Billy Martin, UCLA


First Team

Marcos Giron, Jr., UCLA *

Yannick Hanfmann, Jr., USC *

Ben McLachlan, Sr., California

Ray Sarmiento, Sr., USC

Clay Thompson, Sr., UCLA *

Roberto Quiroz, Jr., USC

*unanimous selection

Second Team

Gage Brymer, Fr., UCLA

Robin Cambier, Sr., Oregon

Emmett Egger, Jr., Washington

Slim Hamza, Jr., Utah

Mackenzie McDonald, Fr., UCLA

John Morrissey, Jr., Stanford

Honorable Mention

Max DeVroome, So., USC; Kevin Farin, So., Oregon; Andre Goransson, Fr., California; Campbell Johnson, Sr., California; Eric Johnson, Jr., USC; Karue Sell, So., UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network